We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Bacio

Al Bacio
10-14 South King Street | Deansgate, Manchester M2 6DW, England
+44 161 832 7669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Manchester's Newest Italian Restaurant/Pizzeria/Bar, Al Bacio, located on South King Street, Manchester City Center. Authentic cuisine prepared with fresh ingredients and Italian passion. Al Bacio offers some of the finest Italian food in the heart of Manchester City Centre. Offering an abundance of friendly atmosphere and hospitality. With Fresh, Rustic Italian dishes to die for, Al Bacio is perfect for all occasions such as Birthdays, Anniversaries, Business Lunches, Private Functions, Pre- Theatre Dinners, Group bookings, a relaxed drink at our bar, or simply a coffee break from your busy shopping schedule.
gbr
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Went here with a voucher deal arrived 3ish on a Saturday only a few in so no atmosphere which in an Italian is a must.Starter good..chicken livers ..and prawns in a lovely creamy sauce.Main course steak excellent although the veal in a cream and mushroom sauce was wafer thin was expecting medallions for the price.Salad pretty boring....The service was really good.Would return but the veal was not value for money.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    50
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service, just lacking atmosphere with over-priced drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

A party of 10 ate here on a Friday evening. We arrived just after 7:30pm and the place was almost empty so it was a bit lacking in atmosphere, although it began to fill up slightly as the night progressed. Service was excellent and all staff were polite & attentive.
We each had a 3 course meal and there were no real complaints although one of the party was disappointed to find fish bones in their seafood pancakes, but this aside everyone seemed generally pleased. (and to give the staff credit the meal was replaced with an alternative without fuss or protest from the waiters) My own meal was superb; antipasto to begin with, tagliatelle with chicken livers for main, finished off with a Irish coffee.
As always in city centre restaurants drinks were a bit pricey; cheapest bottle of wine was £17 and a pint cost £5.50, but of course when the bill arrives a 10% service charge was automatically added meaning in reality the wine was £18.70 and over £6 a pint! Soft drinks were reasonable at a couple of quid.
Whilst I would recommend this place, I am in no particular rush to return, as there are so many equally good restaurants in Manchester city centre to choose from, with slightly more realistically priced drinks. Maybe I am just a tight northern bloke but £16.50 for 2 pints and 2 lemonades just takes the shine off for me.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Service fine, food disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Been back a couple of times since the change from San Rocco to Al Bacio. The service has improved but unfortunately the food is nearly no where as good. Overcooked pasta in an Italian Restaurant, surely this shouldn't happen.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenicolaco, Manager at Al Bacio, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi

Thankyou for visiting Al Bacio.

Apologies that you had an issue with the food. Could email us at info@al-bacio.co.uk and let us know the date/times you attended and which dish you ordered then we can look into in and get back to you.

Many Thanks
Al Bacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

First time ever at this restaurant. We were on a day's shopping trip but had still booked in advance. Went on a voucher deal which can sometimes be a bit off-putting in terms of expectations. Not in this case. The staff were so lovely and welcoming from the start.

Instead of one main, one of us asked for two starters instead. Not a problem. Food arrived, yes we did have to wait a bit, but not too long, but this was stipulated on the menu as everything is cooked fresh. And fresh it was. I had the chicken stuffed with asparagus and cheese. It was delicious. The chicken was so tender. Absolutely lovely. My sister, who had the two starters, ordered calamari and ribs. I am not a fan of calamari as, in my experience, it is never fresh enough. But I tasted hers and it was as fresh as it could be. Absolutely wonderful.

I would definitely go back and definitely recommend this lovely restaurant to anyone. The staff are lovely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadderton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb food excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Went to Al Bacio on Sunday lunch time for my partners birthday
Service was a 10 and the food a 10+ the steak melts in your mouth and the cheese cake was to die for.
Will be recommending this restaurant to my friends and family.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bacio also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Al Bacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Bacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.