We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!!!!!!! Not to be missed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Bacio

Al Bacio
10-14 South King Street | Deansgate, Manchester M2 6DW, England
+44 161 832 7669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Manchester's Newest Italian Restaurant/Pizzeria/Bar, Al Bacio, located on South King Street, Manchester City Center. Authentic cuisine prepared with fresh ingredients and Italian passion. Al Bacio offers some of the finest Italian food in the heart of Manchester City Centre. Offering an abundance of friendly atmosphere and hospitality. With Fresh, Rustic Italian dishes to die for, Al Bacio is perfect for all occasions such as Birthdays, Anniversaries, Business Lunches, Private Functions, Pre- Theatre Dinners, Group bookings, a relaxed drink at our bar, or simply a coffee break from your busy shopping schedule.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!!!!!! Not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a fantastic restaurant - food excellent, service - with a smile!! Took my wife and sister and not one could find fault with anything (not like the one who said Avoid!!! - think he was at a different restaurant) .As soon as we arrived we were greeted and shown to our table with a welcoming smile. Service was excellent and the food - well words can't describe it - truly Italian!!! bellissimo. I will (and have already) recommended to friends and clients. Do not miss the experience of this absolutely amazing restaurant. Definitely going back !!! Do not listen to Avoid Avoid ...... are they competitiors! as they are the only ones with a disappointing review.
In actual fact I have booked already to take some work clients as I want to impress and I feel this is the place to do it in. David of Timperley

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    50
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the heart of manchester!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is my second visit to AL BACIO, A truly authentic Italian restaurant hidden away in the heart of the city, The 1st time was just my girlfriend and I and this time with my family for my mothers birthday. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive and overall great value, needless to say we will return, in fact we are having a Christmas party there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid! Avoid! Avoid! Bad food, expensive drinks!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Have just returned home from al bacio and what a disappointing experience.

We arrived hoping to find San Rocco, but was told that it had closed and was now al baco. As we had spent that day in manchester we decided to give it a try as the menu looked ok.

We were greated by a friendly member of staff who had no problem seating both of our families 4 adults, 4 children. It was around 5pm and the restaurant was very quiet so we were expecting quick service, wrong.

We placed our order of 2 garlic bread 3 pizzas and 3 pasta and one portion of ribs with fries.

The garlic bread took 50 mins to arrive. Not sure why it took so long as there was in only one other table occupied when we placed our order.

After we had finished our garlic breads the main courses then took a further 30 mins and what a disappointment!

The two cannelloni pastas were dry and stuck to the bottom of the dish and the penne with salmon and vodka cream sauce was tasteless and had about about a tea spoon of salmon in it. The childrens pizzas were burnt around the edges and the fries arrived 10 mins after the ribs, which were not hot.

I wish it ended there but the drinks bill was nothing short of daylight robbery, a small glass of Pinot Grigio £6.40 a pint of peroni £5.50!

We also witnessed another couple leave after waiting an hour for their starters only to receive the wrong dishes, we were also offered 4 other dishes that weren't for our table.

Another party of 14 who arrived after us, were so fed up of waiting for their starters, that the grandfather of the family walked into the kitchen to find out what the problem was!

Let's just say we will not be returning again! !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Al BACIO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The food and service was fantastic would recommend it to everyone. Will be having our Xmas party here this year

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mouth-watering food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My partner and I along with a group of family and friends had the pleasure of dining at Al Bacio. The service was impeccable. The food was delicious, truly authentic Italian cuisine. We will definitely be eating here again and would highly recommend that others do too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bacio also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Al Bacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Bacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.