We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arora Hotel Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arora Hotel Manchester to your Saves list
Arora Hotel Manchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 24 Princess St, Manchester M1 4LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A conversion from a Victorian Warehouse turned into a comfortable hotel located on one of the main throughfares in Central Manchester, close to China Town.

Stayed for 2 nights & benefittted from the 20% discount promotion for 2 nights stay, booked directly on the hotels own website.

Approx 10 mins walk to Piccadilly Station in one direction and the same down to Spiningfields/Deansgate Area and the financial district, 5 mins walk from gay village. There is a metro station close by in St Peters Square.
Limited meter parking is available in the side street adjacent to the hotel, these operate 8.00am to 8.00pm Monday to Sunday, however on Bank Holidays they are free except when there are big events on in the City (Pride etc). But be warned the wardens are vigilent.

Reception staff were welcoming & efficient. Access to the lift to the bedrooms is controlled by your door key card, so security is good.

Our room was quiet and clean, over looking a tiny side street, well equipped with TV, tea/coffee facilities, free safe, iron & ironing board, workstation, the minibar is unstocked so you can fill with your own drinks if needed, plenty of storage space, good blackouts, the bed was comfortable but perhaps too soft for some people.
The bathroom was of a reasonable size with bath/shower combination, good quality towels,large steam free mirror, magnifying shaving mirror, Gilcrest & Soames soap,gel & shampoo there is a loud speaker link from the TV into the bathroom and good lighting.

If you are booked on a room only there are a number of places where you can get breakfast close by.

Good value when you stay on the two night deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    448
    150
    43
    19
See reviews for
150
534
68
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night during the week for business trip. Having read other reviews, my review could be seen as harsh, but having travelled to 30 countries for business and pleasure, I felt this hotel was ok but not outstanding.

Location - It was in good walking distance to financial and shopping districts and train station. However, the location was quiet and lacked atmosphere.

Service - Friendly, polite reception and breakfast staff, but I did not feel anyone went beyond normal customer service.

Room- It was big, clean comfortable but was on the ground floor next to noisy car park and bins.

Internet - I paid for 24 hours wifi but unfortunately it was not working.

Food - breakfast adequate - there were hot buffet as well as cold options but there were no water dispensers.

Gym - consist of 2 treadmills and couple of other machines and some hand weights.

Overall, if I return to Manchester, I am not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review your feedback is extremely important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I travel alot due to my job. I was professionally welcomed and enjoyed the same courtesy throughout my stay. I pay particular attention to the evenings as I was out during the day. The bar area and restaurant were inviting, spacious and relaxing, with a mixture of seating areas and styles, it made for a wonderful experience. A big thank you to the hotel staff. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: My corner suite was a very large room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed with 2 friends for a long weekend in a triple room while visiting family. Very comfortable very clean and spacious for 3 adults. Will definitely stay again. In a good location. F
Breakfast was very good and nicely presented in the dining room.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our large double double rooms, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

this is our first trip to Manchester and we were very happy with the location of the hotel. The staff front of house where very helpful and tentative. we ate in the hotel restaurant for our evening meal and the food was excellent , as were the cocktails. I would defiantly recommend this hotel for people wanting a central location with excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your experience in our bar and restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good location. friendly and helpful staff. Car park in few min. walking distance from hotel. Nice resturant and a bar with internet and good beer selection, does one need more ? :) For shopping this location is exelent, just enough distance from busy street. Short walk to catch the Metro tram. I enjoyed my stay and if I am to visit Manchester again I will try to book this Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our location and hotel we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the UK many times and I love the many types of boutique hotels. The Arora Manchester is a gem! Check in was a breeze and they had a room ready early for me as I arrived at an odd time. The room was spacious, well appointed, and very comfortable! The location was fantastic, right in central Manchester, a 30 second walk to the tram station, and less than 5 pound taxi ride from almost anything I needed to go see or do in the city. The staff were helpful and friendly and what can I say about the bar downstairs (called the 24 Bar and Grill) - truly fantastic food, great drinks (not over-priced) and friendly staff!!! The room itself and bathroom were both incredibly clean and modern. In the end the only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is the water pressure in the shower! We North American travelers are spoiled by near jet like water pressure and its hard to find in Europe!!! I give the Arora full marks and would stay again in a flash!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the drinks selection in our bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arora Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Manchester

Address: 18 - 24 Princess St, Manchester M1 4LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Family Hotel in Manchester
#15 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Arora Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Hotel Manchester
Manchester Arora International Hotel
Arora Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arora Hotel Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.