We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Sunday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Cooper's House and Garden

Mr Cooper's House and Garden
The Midland Hotel, Peter Street, Manchester M60 2DS, England
+44 161 932 4128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 1,709 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Combining modern touches with the history and heritage of Mr Cooper himself, whose house and famous gardens sat on the site back in 1819, Mr Cooper's House & Garden is set to offer a multitude of different dining settings under one roof. Bringing his 2 Michelin-starred expertise to one of Manchester's most iconic sites, Mr Cooper's House and Garden is the second restaurant by Simon Rogan at the iconic Midland Hotel. Serving diverse, European cuisine in a unique setting, many ingredients are sourced from the restaurant's own farms, dotted throughout the lush north England countryside.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Visited with friends. Welcomed into bar and enjoyed a cocktail pre-dinner - very tasty and beautifully presented. Lunch was yum, enjoyed the three course Sunday set menu - extremely good value for money at just under £20 for three courses. Couldn't quite fit in the entire dessert unfortunately as a little heavy for me after a roast but everyone else seemed to manage okay! Only thing that let the place down a little was the amount of time it took for any drinks we ordered to arrive - can understand with cocktails but not with bottled cider or soft drinks. Also I fancied a glass of wine with my main but no one came over and asked if we wanted any more drinks after our starter we had to try to get the attention of someone and it took a while. But all little things really, overall would visit again and recommend the Sunday lunch!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    165
    75
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Went here for our wedding anniversary. Couldn't afford the French restaurant and thought this was the nearest we would get. I'd booked for the pre-theatre menu, my wife loves a deal.
The place looks good, certainly better than it did previously and we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff.
The food was very well done and tasted really good, although the portion sizes were a bit small. Fortunately we had ordered 3 additional sides to share, which at £4 each I felt were a bit pricey but they were good. We had three courses which in the early diner menu weren't badly priced. I'm not sure I'd want to go a la carte.
We were surprised as our children had a arranged for a bottle of prosseco to be served, which made my wife cry. The staff were extremely pleasant and the service couldn't be faulted.
Would I eat here again, yes but probably only the early diner - I just can't see spending so much to eat, but the food is good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't go. If you want good food and service find it elsewhere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The place is well decorated but after that forget it.

Despite the food being pretty well done and tasty, the huge disappointments of service and the fact that the VAT is not included in the prices (with no indications anywhere) annoyed me so much they can shove it. They even have the prices on the wine menu that are 25p less than what they actually charge (small I know, but illustrates how messed up they are).

Service was awful - the waitress barely looked at our table. Asking for wine with the main meal, she did not return until we had almost finished. And desert - just to get the menu again took 20 minutes. Certainly not deserving the 10% they automatically add to the bill!

I completely forgot that the food was nice, despite the place- but not great. It does not match any Michelin, or even the un-rated restaurants in Washington DC, Volt (Frederick), Quay (The Rocks, Sydney) etc. Over priced, under performing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Manchesters best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Love the place, ticks every box, casual friendly & attentive service, great interesting menu, impeccably cooked food, & surprising good value for money.
10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad but only ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

i have visited here on 2 occasions but my sencond visit was no where near the same standard as my first visit. i had booked the table through the bookatable app for a special offer for 7.30pm (this may not be accurate.) We were running a little late so phoned to let them know and a few minutes later they called back to say that the offer ended at 7.45pm but there was no mention of this on bookatable. We arrived at exactly 7.45pm and the receptionist smiled and commented that we were just in time. When walking us to our table i heard the manager (or who i thought was the manager) tell the lady that we had to order immediately so when we sat down we quickly decided what we wanted. I thought that it was quite rude of him to announce this to everybody in the surrounding area, a nice quiet telling to myself and my partener would of sufficed. Ther service we recieved from ur waitress was amazing and the food was delicious but there was not enough of it. We had a 3 course meal and then went home to order a pizza as we were still very hungry. On the 1st occasion we visited i remember that the portions were quite small but i left feeling like i was going to explode. Brilliant service and foos, just very small quantities. Wouldnt stop me going back though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Cooper's House and Garden also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Mr Cooper's House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Cooper's House and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.