We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktail masterclass hen do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montpellier's

Montpellier's
42 Back Turner Street, Manchester m4 1fr, England
+(44)01618323146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #457 of 1,825 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Montpellier's...Opened on Back Turner street in August of this year, Montpellier's had a vision of opening a cafe which stripped back every unnecessary part of a dining experience, focusing solely on high qaulity drinks, the tastiest food and outstanding customer service.Our food menu is influenced heavily by French style home cooking, with Beef Bourguignons and Croque Monsieurs playing the starring roles in a supporting cast of big flavours and balanced dishes.The drinks we serve, we serve because we enjoy them and we can taste the quality that comes with that. From a back bar full of some of the finest Bourbons, Whisk(e)ys, Gins and Rums to a wine menu which constantly changes to accommodate changing seasons and demand, don't be surprised if a member of our team gives you the exact reason behind why we stock the things we do.The music... we try our utmost to make sure you will never be disappointed, whether it's Bowie or The Mac, The Metres or The Clash, Little Ann or Prince... it's going to be good.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cocktail masterclass hen do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I visited Montpelliers with a large group of friends for a prearranged masterclass. The bar was the only in the area who would hold a class for us so late - we didn't want to begin until after 8pm due to other hen activities planned. The bar suggested we sat upstairs to begin with and we had sharing platters and Prosecco then had our cocktail class after the football - around 9.30.
Adam hosted our party for the evening. He was friendly and welcoming and looked after us really well. He gave us an introduction to the cocktails before letting us loose behind the bar making them ourselves. All the cocktails we lovely! From Long Island ice teas to expresso martinis! No one left sober and we all had a great time.
The food, atmosphere, drink & service were all great - will definitely visit again when next in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great little place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Living in the northern quarter it always excites me when new venues open. The different offerings these places provide helps Manchester retain its individuality, and Montpellier's certainly doesn't dissappoint. Have visited here twice now, once with my Nan and my girlfriend's mum for mother's day where we sampled the set menu. The food was homely and just right - not pretentious or stingy. Another time was prior to a concert and the food was again impressive (if a little bit salty).
Staff were great and friendly and would help you out when choosing whether to overface yourself or not. I loved the look of the place, the decor clean, modern but classical. What a great spot to watch the football, and I will ensure a go there many times during the world cup season to drink, eat and be merry with other like-minded people who appreciate a good venue.
Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cocktail master class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A fantastic afternoon spent with Adam our expert bartender with an amazing knowledge of cocktails spirits and drinks! Our cocktail master class was the highlight of our weekend, we got to make,taste and most importantly drink a wide range of cocktails and all for only £20 per head. Adam was great and it made for a great start to my friends hen celebrations! We went as a group of girls but intend to return with our better halfs sometime soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Owner at Montpellier's, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hey guys, thanks for the kind words! We're very happy that you enjoyed the cocktail masterclass and look forward to seeing you again! Follow us on facebook and twitter to find out about more cocktail evenings at Montpelliers; Watch this space for a rum cocktail and food pairing night, and a Chambord tasting evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Soup-oyb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Took a few work colleagues, they liked the surroundings. Maybe I was more impressed with the place because of friendliness of the staff (as I was the one getting the beers in). Top place!
Nice beers. I treated myself to an Amaretto sour.... WOW!
I ate a Steak Baguette... there was enough steak on there for another baguette!

Deffo going back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Owner at Montpellier's, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Danny, We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to us last time you where here. We've just launched our Summer cocktail menu too, so if you liked your Amaretto Sour, then why not treat yourself to some our great new summer concoctions on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Decent option for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I visited Montpellier at lunch time. Difficult place to find but it means that you can actually find a table at lunch time when all the other cafes in the Northern Quarters are packed. The menu has many French favourites listed however, what you get on the plate is not what you'd find in France at all; instead Montpellier takes inspiration from France but gives dishes a British twist. The omelette are for instance made with duck eggs (very nice) and are served in a kind of pan. The croque monsieur are not toasted as they would be in France and are served with wedges. But I didn't mind at all. The food was actually very nice and portions were generous. I would only say that the service was a bit slow. Overall, a nice place for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Owner at Montpellier's, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi there, Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your meal with us when last you came. I'm sorry you found the service to be a little slow, rest assured we'll take that on board and hopefully it will have improved by the time you next visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montpellier's also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Montpellier's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montpellier's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.