We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nawabs

Nawabs
Stockport rd, Manchester, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 1,764 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Impressive selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Massive place. Loads of choice of dishes that will cater for most people. The food is hot and well prepared and well stocked - good selection of desserts . If you like buffets this is a good place to visit especially if there is a group of you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good Evening out - but food average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

So thought try out Nawabs in Manchester to see what the hype was all about

went with family and so

Nice Exterior and lovely building and reception area - although alot of people decided to start taking pics of themselves in fron of that water fountain!

but first impressions were good nice building and plenty of car parking space at the back

the place was packed out when we got there and it was a sat evening around 7pm

were were told that expected time for waiting would be 1 hour

but we went in and got a table straight away no waiting

waiter came up to us immeidately before we had a chance to look through the drinks menu and wanted to tak our drinks order

as usual drinks were over priced and expensive!

settled for mango lassi bottle of water and some fizzy drinks!

Went to the starters there was probably around alteast i would say 20 different choices of starter! Grilled chicken, friend chicken, spicy chicken, sheekh kebab, chips, pizza, salad bar, chicken wings, chicken pieces, salad bar etc too many sto start from

we got a bit over excited and just jumped to the starters over filling got back to table and was nearly full :|

then to the main again atleast around 20 different main dishes you have your biryani (lamb chicken) nihari, haleem, pasta, korma, loads differnet type of curries, naan breads several types etc etc veg non veg masala dosa aswell too much to choose from

opted for the butter chicken with rice and naan it was ok! bit oily and tasted bland!

Best part was the dessert!!!

6 types of icecream,, kulif, jalebi, ras mala and all types of indian desserts very nice!

overall Food was average below average...not all that but was ok!

atmosphere was good place was totally packed out!

it costs about £13.99 per head eat as much as u want..

drinks of course were seperate

Would i go there again - Yes Probably good atmosphwere and enjoyable if you are with a group

tip: dont get too excited for starters!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good place to rat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really enjoyed my visits here. Lively atmosphere and comfy although very busy and its a tight squeeze getting out of your seat to go to get your food.

Nice and warm food, variety of different dishes to choose from, desserts are very good too

Been here for weddings as well as meals with friends and family. Never fails to impress. Ample parking behind it too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Buffet with top quality selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The food served at Nawabs has an original authentic touch and taste. The food tasted fresh, just cooked and the correct temperature. I visited this restaurant with a group of friends and we all enjoyed the atmosphere and felt very relaxed as the service was of high standards.

The parking area outside the restaurant was perfect, we had enough space to park our vehicles.

The staff were approachable, very helpful and good listeners. The staff delivered world class service and something I still remember. I would hight recommend this restaurant to families and friends to visit for great dining and quality time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Indian Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went in a group of four just to try this place as we heard many good things, Went on a Friday evening so was full and bursting at the sides. Even though the place is huge! Very well decorated with excellent class about it.

We were told we'd have to wait around an hour and surely enough after an hour we were eventually seated. the place although big had lots of tables squeezed in so we felt a little too close to other dinners but we were too hungry to care.

The food choice was huge with ok-ish quality (expected from a buffet) nonetheless it was made up by the wide range available..

All in all very good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nawabs also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Nawabs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nawabs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.