We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Burger Kitchen

Gourmet Burger Kitchen
651 Wilmslow rd, Didsbury, Manchester, M206QZ, Manchester M20 6QZ, England (Manchester City Centre)
0161 4487167
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #582 of 1,640 restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: European, Hamburgers, Australian, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Manchester City Centre
Manchester
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
“Great service, good food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Been to GBK before, but my experience this time was very different to past average visits, the service was very good, the food was good too, but as usual the food was very expensive IMO, even with 50% off (through a Taste Card) still paid nearly £9 for a burger and fries!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    16
    36
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My burger was good, but not asked how I'd like it cooked. The food came quickly and was good value. Nice meal, but not better than average

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I ordered the chicken satay burger. The chicken is way too thick for me, and needs to be sliced (butterflied). It is so difficult to eat. It tasted wonderful though. I ordered side of fries and garlic dip and satay dip. Wow the garlic dip is nice and strong. My fiance had the habanero burger with sides of fries and homeslaw. They brought him a salad out by mistake, but this was soon rectified. We had an oreo and a strawberry milkshake. Warning! The milkshakes are lovely, but VERY expensive. Free nuts which is great, and free jugs of water available, which I think every restaurant should do. Tasty food, but rather expensive. £40 for 2 people eating burger is a little too much, even if it was nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food / service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Enjoyed lovely food and drink here... staff are extremely helpful and food was delicious and large portions so don't eat the day you visit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“not nice for us”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

sat outside
dirty table
no service
went in to order myself
food came
coldish and then we saw the burger was raw inside !!!
i went in and got my money back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Burger Kitchen also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Trafford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gourmet Burger Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Burger Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.