We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why pay for a hotel room when you can have... A kitchen... ..lounge... For the same price?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Place Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Place Aparthotel to your Saves list
The Place Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Why pay for a hotel room when you can have... A kitchen... ..lounge... For the same price?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with our two teenage sons... it has free Wifi.....and space to lounge about. It's very central and has a car park too. It's basically a converted victorian warehouse complete with brick curved ceilings and huge cast iron internal stantions, yet with a real modern interior. Staff were helpful and even booked a restaurant for us. One of the best bits of a apartheid is their a bit of room to entertain and there are were enough wine glasses. We will definitely be back to stay.





  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed some family time together at The Place and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    273
    94
    44
    23
See reviews for
172
159
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Place apartments are nice and quite big. We stayed in a 5 people apartment with two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a nice livingroom and kitchen. The place got everything you need for a nice stay, also if you want to cook on your own or just want to relax in the couch and watch TV. The Place is located very central down town Manchester within waking distance from everything.
I can definitely recommend to stay at this place if you are traveling in a group.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am glad you enjoyed staying in one of our spacious family apartment and look forward to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

stayed at apartments for 2 nights over the weekend and have to stay i would and will def return. The room we had was huuuuge!! 2 bed apartment on the 4th floor and we couldnt fault it. We had a corner suite which meant a different view out of every window and more space than we needed. The reception staff etc where all very friendly and helped with directions and menus for takeaways!! is def a great alternative to hotel and the location is also a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed staying with us and hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Place Apartment hotel in Manchester just rose to the top of my favourite hotels of all time list. There is so much to love about it. First, location, location, location. The Place is literally steps away from Picadilly train station (the main station) with connections to trains all over the UK, including a train that takes you directly to the airport (a 15 minute ride for £4). Easy peasy. Second, the size of the apartments. I have lived in apartments that are smaller than these! I could live for months at a time in these apartments. We asked for a one bedroom apartment but (for reasons not clear) got a two bedroom. So, there were two bedrooms with really comfortable beds, two bathrooms (yay, I got a bathroom to myself!), a fully equipped kitchen (with nice touches such as a bottle of real milk in the fridge, a washer/dryer, dishwasher, nice wine glasses), a sitting area with comfy couch and chair and a dining set. All the comforts and conveniences, including toiletries, hair dryer, robes, slippers, nice big fluffy towels, good linens and windows that open. Third, aesthetics. It’s a converted industrial building and it retains many of the original architectural features. We found this to be very cool. Urban chic. Modern and clean. Fourth, the service was exceptionally friendly and professional. More than polite. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and attended to our every need and desire. Fifth, the breakfast. We only had it once, the day we were leaving (see fully equipped kitchen above), and it was pricey at £8.95, but it was excellent. Buffet style with loads of fresh fruit and nice breads and pastries, cereal, yogurts, juices, cold meats and cheeses, and then the full English hot breakfast. If preferred, you can also order off the menu. The breakfast is served in the bistro, which is garishly decorated and a bit loud with the unnecessary music playing; however, that’s a small complaint. In all, we left The Place reluctantly and we’ll definitely stay there again. Good value for the money in every respect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your superb review! I am glad to hear that we are on top of your favourite hotels of all-time list! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again when you return to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding for the weekend - great location, easy to get to by public transport or by car.
Check in was supposed to be from 3pm, we arrived from down south 3 hours early thinking we wouldn't be able to get in, so went in to ask if we could at least park the car - the receptionist checked to see if our room was ready, which it was, so let us check in!
This gave us more time to shop in Picadilly which is minutes away :)
Hotel itself is beautiful, apartments are massive, clean, tidy, with everything we needed for our stay.
Staff were amazing - everyone was really helpful and genuinely friendly, even in the early hours when we all had a few small sherries on board!!!!
Food can be ordered for room service, didn't try this but did eat in the hotel restaurant - again, couldn't fault this.
This will definitely be my hotel of choice whenever I am in Manchester - so long as they don't allow any of their staff to ever leave :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear we are your hotel of choice and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very nice 4* . We had a 2 bed apart with atrium view. Large clean practical and good central location. Ensuite, tv, kitchen, dishwasher. Evena washing machine. Great alalternative to a pokey hotel with an extra bed cramped in. Fully recommend for families. We paid 87 per night for 2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed some quality time with your family and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinbugh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had the most wonderful experience staying at the place apart hotel , two beautiful bedrooms adjoining , amazing lounge kitchen . We were on the 6th floor top of building our apartment had the benefit of high ceiling and skylight which added the brightness of the room. We got breakfast served in the apartment both mornings full works , we couldn't fault anything , staff were helpful and friendly . We will defiantly be back .

Room Tip: Ask for room 606 it's amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#21 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
#26 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and chinatown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.