We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Place Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Place Aparthotel to your Saves list
The Place Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Workington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked The Place - 2 bedroom apartment for a girlie weekend trip at end of March. The first apartment we were shown to was on the 5th Floor and although wonderfully spacious there was a distinct 'sewerage' type smell coming from the main bathroom, after speaking to the reception desk she told me they would move us to another apartment and would send someine up with a new key and to help us move. We were amazed and even more delighted to be moved to a Penthouse apartment which was over 2 floors and had its own glass lift which only went to the 7th floor. The apartment was outstanding with a luxurious patio from the bedrooms and an upstairs lounge and kitchen. Overall experience fantastic customer service and very delighted guests. Would definately recommend The Place and will be booking again soon, all upgrades make your stay that much more special, thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed staying in one of our Penthouses and I am looking forward to welcome come you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    245
    85
    39
    22
See reviews for
153
151
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A friend and I traveled to Manchester to see Pink in April 2013. We had been to Manchester before but made the mistake of staying in a Premier Inn. However, I found this hotel at a very reduced rate online and decided we'd give it a go - being so close to the train station it was incredibly handy for the morning we left.
The apartments were the perfect size for having a few drinks in before going out - which was great as we were on a budget for the weekend. Staff were great - we ordered food from the kitchen one night which arrived quickly and was lovely.
The only reason I give them 4 stars is the rooms are a little dark, so if you are away for a weekend and plan on going out later in the evening, getting ready in the dark bathrooms isn't ideal (in fact anywhere there was a mirror seemed darker!?).

Overall it was a brilliant hotel/apartment and fantastic find online - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Place. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken your comments into account. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Place in Manchester is excellent,it is by some distance the best of the Apartment Hotels in Manchester and would,without doubt,be my first choice each time i stay overnight in Manchester but there is one thing that prevents me staying there........the hotel doesn't want me,or rather they only want guests who stay for two nights.

The hotel increasingly is imposing a two night minimum stay which appears to be becoming the norm and this policy appears to be directly linked to anyone who is going to Manchester to watch Manchester United play football.The policy is unfair,nobody travelling from within the UK and not withtanding the delights of the city of Manchester,will want to stay for or pay for two nights.

It seems strange that even great hotels in Paris like the Ritz do not impose a minimum stay even at the height of the Paris Fashion shows or the fabulous Raphael in Paris do not do so even on the Prix De L'Arc de Triomphe.

The conclusion has to be that the Place grudgingly receives football supporters and openly admits to not applying the minimum stay for regular guests,in other words those staying in Manchester on business.How an earth can people like me become regular guests when the hotel puts up barriers to prevent me becoming one.

Putting all that to one side the Place is stylish,well located,the apartments are very large,the staff generally good.I would encourage anyone looking for an apartment in Mancheter to choose the Place.

I still take breakfast at the hotel,even though i can't stay there.Usually the breakfast is excellent but on Tuesday morning it was very poor indeed but i will not dwell upon that as it was clearly an "off day"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and most of all, thank you for your considerate review about The Place facilities and staff.
As discuss with you, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify the points you’ve raised in order to inform other Trip Advisor reviewers of our booking policy.

Firstly, a minimum 2 nights stay restriction may apply throughout the year when punctual events take place in Manchester i.e. Premier league or Champions League games, festivals or conventions. Minimum length-of-stay requirements as well as rates vary depending on occupancy and are part of our revenue management systems. As a busy city centre venue, we operate at full capacity on week-ends. Thus, even if a 2 bedroom apartment is advertised as available online, it is very likely that it will be sold on the night. Consequently, we wouldn’t accept bookings for 1 night only when there is a 2 nights minimum stay restriction.

Regarding cheaper online rates, please note that we allocate a specific number of rooms to booking agencies and other online partners. Advertised rates are set by these third parties and you might find that they are sometimes cheaper than ours on specific dates. However terms and conditions apply i.e. 1 bedroom apartments only are available.

I am glad to hear that The Place is your first choice when visiting Manchester and I am looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed as part of 2 groups of 4 in one of the deluxe 2 bed apartments and it was excellent.We had an open plan kitchen, dining space and living room which allowed us to interact with the group rather than going off to separate rooms and having to arrange meeting points and times. This made the stay more enjoyable as we were away for a 40th birthday celebration so could have some drinks in one of the apartments before we went out. You also have the privacy of your own double room and bathroom plus robes and slippers!
The check in/out was pretty painless and efficient and they were very helpful on Reception when we had any queries.
I would recommend staying here as really is a convenient location and the price paid is very comparable with other hotels and even some budget places. Am planning a return trip to Manchester for November and have already booked in again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am looking forward to welcome again in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent a lovely stay again, this time it was to celebrate the wedding of friends. This is our second stay and have recommended it to many others. We had breakfast this time and although we had to wait for it to be restocked it was good when it came. Keep up,the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If I can I always stay here whether its on business or pleasure. Great location and the staff are fab, especially Lauren. She is very helpful and always has a smile on her face. Looking forward to staying again soon. xx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoy staying with us when returning to Manchester and have passed your comments to Lauren. We are all looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We found this by chance on the internet and booked a 2 bed apartment for 26th March overnight as we were coming to manchester to see the lion king. What a gem - we had a great stay. All the facilities of a decent hotel but with the luxury of your own flat! We had two bedrooms, one with ensuite, plus a main bathroom. Bedrooms were clean, well furnished,huge comfy bed, flatscreen tvs. The main living area was spacious with decent seating and a dining area. Good kitchen, and nice touch leaving milk in the fridge plus tea, coffee etc. We had sandwiches on room service , which were reasonably priced and tasty. check in was quick, all staff were polite and helpful, explaining how everything worked as it was our first stay, booked us a taxi to take us to the palace thatre and even asked how the show had been when were returned! Our car was safe in the underground carpark,and we loved the way the building has been converted - lovely vaulted ceilings, the steel posts, the glass atrium etc - it was a novel experience for us. We would not hesitate to recommend the place to friends and family and really hope to come back and stay with you a bit longer next time. Five stars from us!

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor and overlooking the city. It was a midweek stay so probably much quieter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#20 Family Hotel in Manchester
#24 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and chinatown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.