We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan

Artisan
22/26 Bridge Street, Avenue North, | Spinningfields,, Manchester M33BZ, England
1618324181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Yet another Living Ventures venture and all part of Tim Bacon’s grand plan to take over the planet, well Spinningfields at least. He knows what he’s doing however and Artisan is another feather in his cap. It’s a big restaurant but not impersonal and on Sunday at least there’s a nice laid back vibe. We think they have a better menu than Grill on the Alley (the Living Ventures brand they most closely resemble) and our meals were more than just OK. Anthea and Chris appear to run the show and we know from their Gusto days that they set the customer service bar agreeably high. It shows at Artisan – everything was spot on. Definitely try it. We will be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    157
    80
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lamb shank arrived with tasteless crushed potatoes not the colcannon mash stated on the menu - without explanation - and everyone agreed this was a very bland meal. Gammon with chips - the chips were far too salty. Arctic roll for dessert was the thinnest slice possible - and came complete with a piece of plastic- presumably from the packaging it had arrived in? Drinks were fine but the ambience was ruined by the blaring music and shouts from the open kitchen. BEWARE - very dangerous heavy lampshades at eye level above tables - we witnessed 2 people banging their heads on these. Overall it's a nice venue for a drink but definitely not recommended for the food- which was very over priced for the quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunch Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited Artisan on a busy Friday lunchtime- was very glad we had decided to book on Thursday night as the place was genuinely busy. This is probably a lot to do with their great value lunch menu. For £9.95 you get a main course from a selection of pizzas, 'big plates' (which includes burger, gammon, smoked mackerel) and salads, plus a glass of house wine, beer or soft drink.

On our table of 4 we had 2 burgers, one gammon and one smoked mackerel. The burgers were delicious (NB- they are old school when cooking burgers, if you don't like any pink in your meat then make sure to ask for well-done). £1.50 extra for cheese seemed a little steep but the size of the portion and the quality of the food made the menu a real bargain anyway. The smoked mackerel was smoked on a block of pine wood, on which it was also served, which added a real wow-factor to the table.

The gammon seemed a little non-descript but again portion size was great for the price paid.

The house red was yummy, served at good temperature. Service was friendly and efficient, without being rushed, which at lunch time is an achievement.

This restaurant is genuinely trendy, fun and is always ridiculously busy at the weekends. It also seems to attract a nicer, less pretentious crowd than Neighbourhood downstairs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average rating for over rated restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

9 of us ate here last night. We had booked a table for 5:30 and were told on booking that they needed the table back for 20:00 which wasn't a problem. We arrived at 5:30 and had to wait at the much too busy bar because our table was still being used. Again, you can understand this at busy times.

When we finally got to our table our waitress was very friendly, orders were taken efficiently and the food was brought out quickly.

The food was average. I had Camembert, lamb shank (after being told they had ran out of the cassoulet) and the baked banana. The lamb wasn't as tender as it could have been and needed longer in the oven and although the banana was nice again it looked and tasted as though it hadn't been in the oven for long enough so the chef had just burnt the top with a blow torch.

One of our party had a side portion of chips and when the waitress asked how everything was he had to tell her they had far too much salt on and would have preferred to have had salted his own.

We then had coffees and two of our party ordered Irish coffees; which came without the Irish bit, no whisky! We told the waitress and she replaced them with proper Irish coffees.

Despite making two complaints the manageress only came over to apologise and advise she had knocked the chips and the Irish coffees off the bill at 7:50 when she also said she would bring over the bill....funnily enough 10 minutes before they wanted the table for another party!

Everything just felt very rushed at this place and as a result it had an effect on the service, the food and the overall experience. We wouldn't go back which is a shame because we were really looking forward to trying Artisan.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good cocktails but food was a let down...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My fiancé and I visited on a Saturday night. We chose a cocktail each- cant remember the name of mine but it was a fruity passion fruit number, and his was the Apple pie cooler. Both delicious.

We ordered the pork crackling which was lovely- few chewy pieces but on the whole really nice.

I ordered the "pig sandwich" which was basically pulled pork on a bun with chips. Nice but not As nice as I have had at Luck lust Liquor and burn or even made myself really....

Fiancé had duck cassoulet. Although the sauce was tasty there wasn't nearly enough of it. The confit duck was not done right and the skin was soggy. Just not right.

Shame really as the restaurant was a great place but it was so big I really think they need to cut their menu down and perfect a few dishes so people can have a good meal rather than a lot of choice and a mediocre plate of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Artisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.