We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan

Artisan
22/26 Bridge Street, Avenue North, | Spinningfields,, Manchester M33BZ, England
1618324181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #232 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The artisan was an interesting building. The booths were nice to sit in and the lighting gave it a really calming and private atmosphere. The food was different and nice. Good sized meal. A little over priced. Wouldn't recommend the pork crackling. The leg of lamb and chicken mains were lovely and the orange chocolate moose made the evening. Lovely cocktails! Ladies toilets are great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    155
    79
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Restaurant has a real buzz and great night out , menu is eclectic and it's possible that some people will struggle to find something that excites them, our group had no such problem though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Wednesday evening for the first time and it all started off pretty well - we got a great welcome upon arrival and I was impressed by the decor and atmosphere as it was lovely.

However, their food was such a big letdown and certainly not worth it's pricetag (and we had 20% discount too!).

To start off with we ordered scallops - these were the tiniest scallops I had ever seen and the dish was barely lukewarm. Also we had mackerel pâté which was served with something that looked like a toasted naan bread which was stale.

For mains, my friends gammon was so incredibly salty - she gave me a piece to try and I couldn't even finish that off because it was so salty.

The dessert and cocktails were nice (although it was served with wilting stalks of mint!!)

Would I bother again? Probably not - it's a shame as the restaurant itself has a lot of potential but really needs to sort out its standard of food which I believe is below par from what I would normally expect from a Living Ventures chain.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancs UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The noise is enough to send you mad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I went on a Sunday evening at about 6.30 p.m.so the restaurant was far from full. The very strange music that was played was so loud it hurt your ears and though I complained nothing was done. I also had to complain about the fact that my beef burger was raw oozing blood when I had ordered it medium to well done. The manager did deduct it from the bill but that's not the point. I felt for the staff who did everything they could to to make our visit a success but were let down by the kitchen and the people who select the music and determine the volume it is played at

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing special ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We ate at Artisan last night with friends. The welcome was warm, if not a little pretentious. The food was quite filling and heavy, nice but not brilliant. The atmosphere was good, quite upbeat. All in all we enjoyed it, but wouldn't rush back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Artisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.