We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan

Artisan
22/26 Bridge Street, Avenue North, | Spinningfields,, Manchester M33BZ, England
1618324181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We went for lunch,and chose from the lunchtime menu,this came with a drink and was good value for money.Our waitress was very attentive,and smiled none stop considering it was quite busy.It was recommended to us by a friend,and as there are many restaurants in the area,I'm glad we chose that one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    198
    91
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Average food, good service and loud restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended to us by someone who is normally spot on, but it was decidedly average.

The restaurant was 1 big room with some dividing 1/2 walls. This makes it loud and difficult to hold a conversation.
The choice of beers is good. The food is well priced and varied, but it just isn't that special.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, terrible meal= disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have been twice now to Artisan and both times the staff have been excellent. However the meal on my second visit was awful. I ordered a steak medium-rare, now I know it is sometimes difficult to get steaks exactly right but this one turned up well done with no sign of pinkness at all. I sent it back and the waiter was extremely helpful and keen to do anything he could whilst waiting for my food- my friends food was taken back too and fresh ones brought out but not for at least 35 minutes. The worst bit about it was that when the steak came back it let off an odour like rotten garbage, I asked the waiter over again and he noticed the smell too and took the steak away. The steaks were left off the bill but I was left still hungry having had a few chips and one bite of steak.

Overall very disappointing- the best bit about it was the photo-booth and service but I wouldn't go back for a meal again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I visited Artisan for the first time with friends tonight.

The initial impact is incredible, from the unique bar layout to the design of just about everything in the place.

The staff are attentive and friendly, and the cocktail menu is extensive. My wife really enjoyed her raspberry and vanilla martini.

The food is really good, mainly simple food with a twist.

I strongly recommend it for a group or a social night out, but the music is a little too loud for a romantic dinner!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Late Afternoon Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Myself and partner ate here on a Monday afternoon, the decor and surroundings were lovely and very much to my taste, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was really good, served very nicely too. My only gripe was that the wine was £7 for a large glass, would of been cheaper getting a bottle, but will keep this in mind for next time.

We will definetly return and will highly recommend this to family and friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Artisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.