We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, lovely people!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anand's Vegetarian Deli and Pan Centre

Anand's Vegetarian Deli and Pan Centre
217 Wilmslow Road | Rusholme, Manchester M14 5AG, England
+44 161 225 6742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Description: https://www.facebook.com/AnandsDeli
Restaurant details
Description: https://www.facebook.com/AnandsDeli
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We visited here partly on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed.
On a three day trip to Manchester, we ate here twice it was so good!
The people who run the restaurant are so friendly, they happily shared information and recipes about the food we enjoyed eating, and enjoy making, and were extremely enthusiastic.
We thought it was great value for money. It is a casual cafe rather than a 'restaurant', for example there is no table service (you collect your prepared food from the counter) but that was no issue for us. It also closes at 20.30 so make sure you visit early!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great selection of vegetarian food and good value for money. It is the only decent place in Manchester that sells Dhokla/Dhokra/Khaman which is my favourite so will always visit just to get some :) recommend to all especially if you want to try authentic indian food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap, friendly and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

In addition to proper filling curries, Anands also has a wide assortment of cooked cold and hot snacks, perfect for lunch or dinner. The owners are very friendly, and while service and presentation is minimal - mostly self serve, they create a welcoming and warm atmosphere.
Prices are VERY reasonable, particularly for the rotating curries prepared that day. While most indian restaurants provide a plethora of vegetarian options, being solely vegetarian, Anands provides a number of dishes I have never tried before.

Also, I noticed a 5 star food safety rating behind the counter - always a welcome surprise on the curry mile.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A friend introduced me to this place a few years ago and I've been addicted since. The food is amazing here. The owners are lovely too. One of my favourite places to eat. My favourite foods here are paneer masala, channa chaat and samosas. I've also had many tasty things from the front counter but I've no idea what they are called. The mango lassi here is very nice. I can't rate this place highly enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great Gujarati cooking, excellent for a quick meal or a snack. I go here all the time as this place has some of the best Indian food in Manchester in my opinion. The owners are always friendly and happy to see you. It is also very reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anand's Vegetarian Deli and Pan Centre also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Anand's Vegetarian Deli and Pan Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anand's Vegetarian Deli and Pan Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.