We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy mojitos..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dog Bowl

Dog Bowl
57 Whitworth Street West | M1 5WW, Manchester, England
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dog Bowl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #308 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: 5 lanes of bowling within Black Dog Ballroom's speakeasy and diner concept. This is the third venue from the Black Dog Ballroom which opened in April 2013. Dog Bowl offers a Tex Mex inspired restaurant, cocktail bar and five full length bowling lanes open late into the night.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“yummy mojitos..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Found this bar on the way from Albert's shed to the palace theatre. Mojitos at £4 before 7pm lovelllllly,,,,,,

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average food poor waiter service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent a Sunday afternoon here. I ordered the chicken ceased salad which was very non discript, limp lettuce, poor excuse for dressing, I also ordered mac and cheese which failed to come, they offered to bring it through free of charge which was a nice gesture, food was offered without any cutlery. My partner ordered the brisket and fries which was lovely if a little on the small size. Overall there is room for improvement, I would go back, if you want better food try gorilla next door

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDB198, Public Relations Manager at Dog Bowl, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi there,

We are sorry to hear that you didn't feel that the service you received when visiting Dog Bowl did not meet your expectations. We hate to hear that customers have been disappointed with either this or the food we offer and would be keen to talk to you directly to see what we can do to improve our product for you. There is a contact email address above if you would like to get in touch.

Many thanks
Dog Bowl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice food funky bright place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch with friends, service attentive, good tasty and all reasonably priced. I appreciate we went to a bowling alley Saturday lunchtime but I hadn't realised how small, crowded and noisy the place would get so hard to catch up with noisy bowling and we didn't bowl. Thought looking at pictures it was bigger so we could've moved away but not to be. Good food and service and lively place with great decor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't really give it a rating as never made it inside”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Management were happy to take a £40 deposit from us for bowling but didn't let us know that no fancy dress would be allowed and that we wouldn't be allowed entry. On a weekend around Halloween I don't think fancy dress is that weird? Feel like we should have been notified.

Also we have had basically no apology from management, instead being passed over to their PR company and given a bland kind of "we're sorry but it was your own fault" type message.

Needless to say we won't be troubling them with our business again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nicely surprised ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

On a random day out, came across this establishment the food was good, the waitress was over worked, but for a Tuesday afternoon, she had so far to go to get the food but still was so nice and polite, did not mind the wait very welcoming kept us informed sold us a game very enjoyable experience would recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Dog Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.