We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault it, fab and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linda's Pantry

Linda's Pantry
23 Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2JL, England
+(44)0161 236 4252
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: A little Gem of a place! A traditional English cafe with a speciality for home-cooked food. Linda's Pantry has been serving hot and cold food to eat in or take away for over 24 years in the last remaining Coaching House in Manchester City Centre, situated on the corner of Ducie Street, the opposite end to Piccadilly Railway Station on the canal side. Food is served from weekdays Mon-Fri 7.00am-4pm and Saturdays 8.00am-1.30pm. Whether you are looking to start the day with a full English breakfast or a couple rounds of toast and a mug of tea or coffee, or you are looking to have a hot cooked meal for lunch or just a sandwich you will have plenty of choice as well as plenty of taste to satisfy the hungriest of customers!
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it, fab and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We found ourself parked just down from this gem today having run the color run over at the Etihad. On our return to the car we were looking for some lunch and popped in. Two chip barms a chips and gravy and three teas was £9 a bargain at Manchester prices. The chips were hit fresh and clearly home prepared delicious and a great treat. We will be back next time we are in Manchester, a Manchester hidden gem for sure :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
How lucky are we that you found the two gems of Manchester, the Etihad and Linda's Pantry. We are so glad you enjoyed the chips, the gravy and the barm's and next time you may wish to try our homemade Lasagne, Veg, chicken or beef curry, chilli con carne with rice and chips. The Gem that's hidden is the value for money in the unique blend of homemade meals that we try to keep as value for money as much as possible. Hope to see you again soon again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    10
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a place! Best English Breakfast ever...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I really can not express how happy we have been to find a place like this! Located just off Manchester Picadilly Station, this was the best hit we have made. After hiking for 10 days around Iceland, we were hungry as hell and Linda's Pantry was the best place to stop it. From the moment we have entered, we felt this is a genuine english place to eat. Ladies (Emma & Donna) gave us one of the warmest welcome and the food we have had (Steak Pie with Chips, Peas and Gravy for just under GBP 4,-) was fantastic. After such experience we decided to go here for breakfast the following day and that was also just perfect (Full English Breakfast for just under GBP 5,-) and filled us until we got back to Prague later in the afternoon. There were another two really nice ladies in the morning (Valerie & Little Linda) and both were also very friendly. If we come back to Manchester, this will be the place to eat for sure! Keep up the good work - you are great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Wow what a review, thanks ever so much!

We are really glad you could express how you are to have found our little café just behind Manchester Picadilly Station.

After hiking for 10 days around Iceland, our meals will satisfy the hungriest of appetites.

Thanks for taking the time to remember the names of our staff who remember you guys looking so hungry after the trip to Iceland. Our (Steak Pie with Chips, Peas and Gravy for just under GBP 4,-) is very popular with the customers and we are so glad you decided to come back for breakfast the following day Full English Breakfast for just under GBP 5,-) and glad it filled you until you got back to Prague later in the afternoon.

We will endeavour to keep up the good work.

We hope you do come back to Manchester soon

Thanks again for a terrific review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good honest wholehearty grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

popped in today, opted for one of the specials of the day - roast pork, mash, mushy peas, chips, carrots, gravy, apple sauce. a really really well put togther meal. you'll look again at the price list and wonder how they've put all that together for just £3.95. if they could just get a few more tables in there and take down that team poster i'd declare my unwavering love for this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for the honest review and we are pleased you enjoyed one of our most favourite specials of the day - roast pork, mash, mushy peas, chips, carrots, gravy, apple sauce.

We too wonder how we manage to put our meals together at the prices we do, but we do because we value our customers hard earned money so we work hard at keeping our prices as competitive as possible

We are pleased to hear you would like to get a few more tables in our little café because it sounds like you want to bring a crowd with you next time and if we could fit more tables in we certainly would do.

As for your declaration of unwavering love for our café dependent on the team poster coming dow is best summed up by the phrase, "you can't have everything in life".

Brilliant review, just what our café prides itself on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“worth seeking out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

First time in Manchester. Came up on the early train with my umbrella because I heard it always rains up here. That was wrong for a start because it turned out to be the warmest/sunniest day of the year. Wanted a proper breakfast so start my day. Not Costa, Greggs, Subway or some other rubbish. We are talking PROPER breakfast cooked how I like it and served with a smile. That's what you get here folks. This is Man City stronghold but they made this old Arsenal fan feel welcome - that's what you call hospitality and proper good manners.

Come here, eat the lovely food, and give them some of your money (not much), and go on your way feeling the better for it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
If ever there was a review to close the North-South divide this is it!

Thank you ever so much for the review and we are delighted you took the time to tell us you were pleased with your proper breakfast that started your day off well.

The service with a smile line also brought a smile to our faces especially the line about our café being a Man City stronghold because no matter what the football persuasion of our customers we do pride ourselves on our hospitality and proper good manners, as you stated.

Absolute pleasure to send you this review, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You can't knock this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed over night in Manchester recently and had read reviews about this place. How lucky were we to discover that we were staying just round the corner! We went for tea and it was honestly THE nicest home cooked food ever! We had homemade pie and the homemade chips were delicious! And with 2 cups of tea, all for just under a tenner!!!! The owners were so very friendly, they gave us a map and showed us where we needed to go that night. Very, very nice, down to earth people. Needless to say, we visited the morning after, with thick heads....this was soon sorted out with 2 mega breakfasts and 2 cups of tea....again all for under a tenner! The mega breakfast was just that....HUGE! Everything was piping hot and really tasty. If you're around Piccadilly area, or anywhere Manchester make sure you hunt this little place out for some good old fashioned grub. You won't be sorry!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Our morning after antidote, the all day big breakfast has been known to cure even the worst of hangovers. We really appreciate your opinion of our homemade food which we have attempted to price as reasonably as possible.

We are proud to read you think our homemade food is THE nicest home cooked food ever!

Our homemade pie and the homemade chips, cups of tea, all for under a tenner are what we are about and much more, Homemade lasagne, cheese and onion pie, Shepherds Pie, Home made curry and home made cakes also appear to be a winner with our homemade loving customers!!

We also know it is more than just providing a food service, we feel it is so important to provide a quality information service as well, especially if you want to know where to go in the city to meet your particular needs.

We really do hope you come back soon and thanks again for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda's Pantry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Linda's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linda's Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.