We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best brekkie ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linda's Pantry

Linda's Pantry
23 Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2JL, England
+(44)0161 236 4252
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,640 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: A little Gem of a place! A traditional English cafe with a speciality for home-cooked food. Linda's Pantry has been serving hot and cold food to eat in or take away for over 24 years in the last remaining Coaching House in Manchester City Centre, situated on the corner of Ducie Street, the opposite end to Piccadilly Railway Station on the canal side. Food is served from weekdays Mon-Fri 7.00am-4pm and Saturdays 8.00am-1.30pm. Whether you are looking to start the day with a full English breakfast or a couple rounds of toast and a mug of tea or coffee, or you are looking to have a hot cooked meal for lunch or just a sandwich you will have plenty of choice as well as plenty of taste to satisfy the hungriest of customers!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best brekkie ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I work by Linda's and it is FAB.My niece says it's the best breakfast in tne world!!Pay them a visit,you won't regret it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are pleased you enjoy our breakfasts. We do a Big Breakfast, a Traditional Breakfast and Veggie Breakfast and they are really popular with a lot of customers. We use the finest of ingredients and along with our quick efficient service and friendly staff we create a happy place to work in and deliver great customer servie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    45
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“manchesters little secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is one of the very few remaining gems left in the city of Manchester and is 100 per cent what you see is what you get ,the café is popular with both blue and red fans and is used by locals proud to call this city are own.
The food is home cooked and the breakfast is value for money and the menu has everything you would ever want.
Harry likes a talk and if he can help he always will so here is it is are very own Manchester secret so don't spoil it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Linda's Pantry is a little secret, tucked away down Ducie Street. Some people who have walked past for years have only just noticed us and have been really surprised when they have come inside. The building was one of the first Coach Houses in Manchester and is small but adequate, seating for 20 people inside, and six or more outside. Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very grateful. It means a lot to all the staff and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home cooked just like mum used to make”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I work just up the road from Linda's and regularly pop in for various things to eat from a bacon butty in the morning to the superb home made steak pie and chips, I last ate there on 27/06 and had home made chilli with rice and chips, it was lovely, the chips are the best anywhere as they are home made and gorgeous.
I'll be back again tomorrow
cheers keep it up!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your great positive review, it means a lot to us. Our home-cooked pies are a favourite and people do travel from afar especially for them, we really enjoy what we do and making the customers happy. We look forward to seeing you soon and glad you feel at home with your review title 'like mum used to make', thats really kind of you, thanks. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home cooked lovelyness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I work close to Linda's and we pop in for lunch now again for a treat of some lovely northern home cooked food. Not only there is a huge choice of homemade food and specials but you receive a warm welcome from the lovely staff and by the diner's. If your not a northern monkey and want to taste the best of the north then here is a must, even If your travelling solo from Piccadilly station, really beats all the over prices eateries around the station by far. I would recommend their home made pie's they are to die for and real generous portions. No way in the world would I consider Linda's as a greasy spoon far from it, its a secret little place which I hold to my heart dearly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so happy to hear you hold Linda's Pantry close to your heart, we have been open for the past 24years and the staff we have are all wonderful and work very hard each day to make it a fantastic experience for all the customers. We are so proud and grateful. Thanks very much for your review it helps spread the word and makes us very happy. Thanks. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manchester's best cafe!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

You simply cannot beat Linda's, it is the best cafe in Manchester!
Food, service & staff are always great & I love the fact that I work next door so can call in all the time!! :)
The chips are to die for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate it. We are glad you enjoy our chips, we cut them by hand fresh everyday. We hope to see you again real soon. Many many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda's Pantry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Linda's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linda's Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.