We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue for new bands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz

The Ritz
Whitworth Street West, Manchester M1 5NQ, England
0844 477 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 178 Nightlife in Manchester
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly HMV Ritz, gig venue & nightclub
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good venue for new bands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've watched 2 bands here. The script and kodaline. The script gig was packed, boiling and very sweaty! Although the kodaline gig was less full so it was great. Had a great view and the bang sang from the balcony. The drinks are much cheaper than most venues in manchester. The bar staff are terrible! Be prepared to wait !

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    5
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great little music venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My first gig at the Ritz Manchester was Savages on Saturday, great gig, great venue.
In the Oxford Road area of Manchester, a really good area, loads of quirky bars, clubs, places to eat. The capacity I think is about 1500, a comfortable number, the downstairs has a large dance floor standing area, with some high tables with stools dotted around the sides of the dance floor and seated areas to the rear of the room. There is also an upstairs balcony area with seating around the balcony and also at the back towards a bar. Service at the bar was quick, but my partner had both a Stella and a Becks on draught and both tasted weird, he took them back and the barman agreed, so I would suggest sticking to bottles. All in all a great venue in a fab area, I would definitely watch a gig there again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Trapped for 5 hours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited here yesterday for 5 hours of Blues, doors opened at 4pm til 11pm watching 5 bands. Imagine our surprise when we tried to leave for a meal to be told no pass outs! We were not told this when we entered. Our attention was drawn to a small sign behind ticket office saying no pass outs which nobody could see. There were some cold sandwiches behind bar only. No seats as upstairs balcony was shut . Lots of complaints but no manager available to discuss. Great gig spoiled by this venue. Would never come here again!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing end to the evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great venue for smaller not so well known bands or artists.
My main issue was I went with my husband and he decided to go for a final cigarette before the curfew at 10pm he went to the front of the building and was chatting to the door men and all was fine until he wanted to come back in he was told he wasn't allowed back in. No reason at all for it, he called me when I was still inside and I was furious as the band was only part way through the set. The only thing I could think was the curfew but when I checked the time he called to tell me he wasn't allowed back in it was only ten to ten. Complete waste of the ticket at 15.50 plus the booking fee. Very disappointed I have been all over watching the band that was performing there and I can say without a doubt this is has never happened before. Shame cause we have moved close by and I thought little gem but I will never be going back here!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“this place ruined every gig I've been to”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Been to see a few gigs here, unfortunately because this venue doesn't appear to know the limit to the number of people that can fit inside. I've never been to a gig so over-crowded. There wasn't a single place in the entire building where we could stand back for a bit of space... or air. No aircon, means you're burning up within minutes of being inside. awful place. will always avoid going to see gigs if they're at this venue, in fact we'd rather go and see the band in another city rather than here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ritz also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.