We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty, healthy well thought out food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffran

Saffran
The Great Hall | The Trafford Centre, Manchester, England
0161 747 2804
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #607 of 1,709 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Fusion, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: SAFFRAN restaurant at The Trafford Centre is pleasantly located in the quiet area of the booming shopping mall. It’s in The Great Hall, which makes for a peaceful sit-down dining experience away from the hustle & bustle of people walking out of the shops and fast food joints.Our philosophy is to serve amazingly fresh and delicious food while sticking to a practices of making sure every single dish is as healthy as possible to reach goals of healthy lifestyle and overall well being. Our Tandoori clay oven makes our food just iresistible. Even Andrew Parkinson, a valued member of the Jamie Oliver Team visited SAFFRAN and got introduced to the concept and food. To make a long story short he was very impressed and in his own words “SAFFRAN is nothing but amazing!”
Manchester
1 review
“Very tasty, healthy well thought out food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were given a joint birthday present to visit Saffran so it came recommended with good reason. We were looked after from the moment we arrived, with friendly service from Dean and timely arrival of all courses and drinks. There was plenty of choice on the menu, one of us being vegetarian and each dish was healthily portioned and very satisfying. For someone who doesn't have pudding very often these days the chocolate mousses served in half an orange were very pleasing. Ignore those critics who gave a bad review!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    9
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were really impressed with the food and service here, it's a brilliant alternative to waiting for hours in a queue at Nandos. The chicken from the tandoori oven has amazing flavour and the halloumi to start was fantastic. Both Dean and James who served us were friendly and attentive. It's a refreshing alternative to the fast food joints in the trafford centre without a huge price difference. We will certainly be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you want overpriced salty or tasteless food then go to this place. The service was passable though not friendly. The food though healthy has no taste and the chicken is too salty. The previous good reviews of this place were probably by the owners or staff!! Stay away!! Go to Las Iguanas or Nandos instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Healthy Food Made Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Saffran is healthy food which is difficult enough to get as take out as it is, but so delicious at such a reasonable price there on to a winner. I first ate in there and the service was fantastic, very friendly and explained exactly where there food originates from. This is more of a cooked lunch or light dinner option. Every time I visit Manchester I now either eat in or get it as a take away and I have never been dissapointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We've visited a couple of times so far and never failed to please! Gorgeous fresh tasting food and full of flavour! So much choice we just couldn't have it all - making another trip back soon!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffran also viewed

Trafford, Greater Manchester
Trafford, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Saffran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.