We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good city centre hotel with fantastic staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City (Piccadilly)

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Manchester City (Piccadilly) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Manchester City (Piccadilly)
72 Dale Street, Manchester M1 2HR, England (Manchester City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 117 hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A really good city centre hotel with fantastic staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent two nights in the Premier inn Manchester Piccadilly. All the staff we encountered were really, really helpful, upbeat and friendly. The room was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The central location is excellent - two minutes from Manchester Piccadilly Station and walking distance to just about everything. We have now stayed in three different Premier Inns and would like to commend this chain for recruiting such fantastic staff - we now feel that we will only want to stay in Premier Inns when we are on short breaks in England.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    187
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
145
234
39
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter on a recent visit to the University. Couldn't fault the hotel - friendly, warm welcome, comfortable room (with windows that opened so it didn't get too stuffy), well lit mirror with hairdryer next to it (amazing how few hotels have this!) and good shower in the bathroom. Parking is available opposite the hotel but make sure that you let them know where you are staying to get overnight discount. Prices for overnight parking at not shown on the board at the entrance to the car park. Conveniently situated for everything (walking distance) but if you'd like to take taxi these can be ordered by reception.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Another great new hotel for Premier Inn, just a pity they chose to put a pathetic heating system in the bedrooms - the one in the new Liverpool One hotel is a much better set up. I had the unit set at the maximum of 26 degrees and there was no way the room ever reached that level. The grill delivers heat at ceiling level but it never fully circulates round the entire room. This was a great shame as the decor/furnishings and overall ambience were faultless, as was the noise insulation. Friendly staff not afraid to engage in pleasant conversation with guests.

Room Tip: Get a room ending in 01 (e.g 301) and you're at the dead end of a corridor well away from other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just back from weekend stay in this hotel.Hotel is located very close to train station .The staff were really pleasant and helpful.The room was clean and beds comfy.Hotel is also only a couple of minutes walk from shopping area and also bars and restaurants.Really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here to attend concert at MEN. Chose this hotel due it's proximity to the station ( we were originally going to travel by train) circumstances changed and we travelled by car. There are 2 car parks, 1 opposite, That is in the open but if you arrive after 1830hrs you can't get in. The second a multi storey is about a 5 min walk away, the same price for both.

The hotel is typically Premier inn, check in was seamless and our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel located in the northern quarter and a good 10/15 min walk to the shops and town.
This hotel has 11 floors and three lifts

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The first night due to travelling we ate in the Thyme restaurant . The food was good and although there weren't many people. The atmosphere was nice.

The hotel itself was quite quiet and despite being near to a major rail station the noise levels were from outside really weren't too bad and didn't stop you sleeping

A few very minor niggles

Firstly the location. if the prices are the same I would pick a hotel closer to the shops and MEN just for convenience.

Secondly The air conditioning is a pain. This premier Inn as with most has air conditioners that only goes as low as 18 and if you turn it off, it automatically comes back on shortly after but at least it had windows that open.

And finally we couldn't get the TV to work. It wasn't the day for maintenance to be in the building so we were offered a room change. We couldn't be bothered to pack up and move next door just for the tv. As we didn't really need it, but if you had a young family to keep occupied. I am sure this would be a negative.

Room Tip: Call the day before arrival. To book a room on 2nd or 3rd floors so you don't have to wait a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I live in Manchester but stayed here for a night for a hen do.
The location is good, close to Picadilly train station and a short taxi ride to the good bars of Manchester.
Rooms were well equipped, clean, spacious and modern. I've paid a lot more to stay in hotels that aren't as comfortable.
No complaints, does exactly what it says on the tin!
Had a good nights sleep. I was worried it might be noisy as there were lots of large groups staying but it wasn't a problem.
Breakfast was great, £8.25 all you can eat. Worth every penny!!

Definitely recommended for anyone wanting to explore the city who wants a clean modern room for a reasonable price.

If you want luxury and romance and are willingly to spend double/ three times as much try The Great John St hotel, The Hilton or The Midland

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton england
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed one night in the hotel on the 17th Feb for The Killers concert at the MEN Arena.
Hotel is no more than 5 minutes walk from the train station, Out of the station turn right ( Towards town Centre) and the hotel is 2nd on your left, Lena Street.
We were able to store out luggage, Staff on reception were friendly and helpful ( Thanks Neil).
Room was clean tidy and very comfortable.
Town centre is around 10 minute walk awat, the MEN Arena around 15 min walk.
Great location for visiting manchester, particulary if your taking the train.
Look forward ti staying again

Room Tip: Try a higher floor for a possible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City (Piccadilly)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City (Piccadilly)

Address: 72 Dale Street, Manchester M1 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Manchester City Centre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short wheelie-suitcase trundle from Manchester's main transport hub, Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Picadilly) brags a whole floor of meeting and conference facilities, puts you in prime position whether you're seeing the sights or visiting for business. Explore the bars and restaurants of Canal Street and the Northern Quarter. Catch the big live events at the Arena, Old Trafford or Etihad Stadium. Seek out the season's must-haves in the Arndale Centre. Then nip back to enjoy a great night's rest with our contemporary restaurant, spacious rooms and huge, comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City (Piccadilly) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Manchester City (Piccadilly), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.