We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takeaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umezushi

Umezushi
Unit 4, Mirabel Street, Manchester M3 1PJ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $39 - $70
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Great little sushi place, food was really fresh. Only had takeaway, so can't say too much about the restaurant. But the food took long enough to be sure it was made fresh, but not too long. Staff were really friendly and gave me snacks whilst I waited. Definitely calling again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    29
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What's been missing in Manchester....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Ditto to all the comments so far. A nice atmosphere, friendly staff and fresh, lovingly prepared food. Menu changes every couple of days depending on what is available. That's exactly what you want when you go out to eat. Specially prepared food, not a standard menu that's the same all the time. Yes, enough of the nondescript, chain restaurants like yo sushi.... Welcome Umezushi!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Went here tonight after we saw it mentioned on 'Manchester confidential'.
Tucked away on Mirabel street behind the MEN. You'd be forgiven for walking straight past its so small.
Absolutely loved the food. So fresh. Menu changes daily depending on the fish available. We went for the chefs choice mixed seafood sushi (10 pieces comprising of tuna, swordfish, crab, salmon, lemon sole, avocado £10), pak choi handrolls (£2.50), and the mixed tempura (prawn, monkfish tail, vegetables £7). All tasted fantastic!!!!!!!!!. The chefs clearly love doing what they do and spent time making sure the presentation was lovely.
Here's a tip, don't go to Yo Sushi in the Arndale, come to Umezushi which is only a 5 minute walk away.
We will be coming here regularly!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TelM8, Manager at Umezushi, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello there!

Thank you very much for the review. It really means a lot to us that people like our food. Hopefully we will see you soon again!

All the best
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Japaneese food outside Japan!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Amazing food freshly prepared in front of you. I specially liked the rice. All the ingredients were first quality. Really friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Umezushi - Eating sushi with a difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Staff were amiable and were quick to offer recommendations on the day's special.
Food was delicious, particularly the chef's fish sushi selection.
Excellent value for money. I would definitely visit again!
Apart from one or two issues with getting the payment card machine to work, service was swift.
The menu could also do with better presentation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umezushi also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Umezushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umezushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.