We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manchester Terminal 2 - Styal Airport Lounge - Don't Bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Styal Lounge

The Styal Lounge
Terminal 2 | Manchester Airport, Manchester, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,297 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manchester Terminal 2 - Styal Airport Lounge - Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We arrived on 15 Dec 13 to a reasonable welcome by the employee at the desk. On entering the Executive Lounge it was awful. People with feet on chairs, cutlery, crockery and glasses uncollected. The food on offer is terrible. The ambiance of the place awful. The decor and chairs in need of refurbishment. The staff unfriendly and looking like they hate their job. All in all a terrible experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Styal Lounge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Anon209967,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your visit, it is of course disappointing to read your comments and we would would like to let you know that we are planning a refurbishment of this lounge this year. In the interim, we are putting measures in place to ensure that the lounge does not become oversubscribed and we are amending the food and beverage offer by working with our supplier and listening to customer feedback.

Thanks again and Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    18
    19
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Very disappointing. Must have had a rush on. Mind you it was Saturday afternoon. It was heaving. Full of what seemed like noisy lager louts who had cleaned out the supplies. Nothing to eat except for packets of twiglets. Everywhere was a mess and only one girl cleaning up. Went back down to main shopping area and bought a snack. It was quieter and more organized and less noisy there. Would like to customers to think twice about what time they are going in there. I have been at breakfast time and it's been fine though. Won't bother again if I'm flying mid afternoon. Servisair should have had more staff on to cope with the rush as it must happen every Saturday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Manager at The Styal Lounge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Pefkos2013,

Thanks for taking the time to get in touch with us via Tripadvisor. It is obviously disappointing to read your comments but all feedback, both positive and negative, is important to us. Unfortunately the flight schedules mean that there are significant busy times and quiet times at this lounge, however, we will pass your comments onto the Lounge Manager to ensure that the lounge is appropriately staffed and tidyness is maintained in line with our own standards. We are also working on internal procedures, and working with booking agents, to ensure that customers are adhering to our terms of entry. I hope this helps and that we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good to be away from the hoipolloi, would pay for this if I didn't get it free with my bank account!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A relaxing start to the holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews of the Styal Lounge, I wasn't expecting very much. We got it free with our holiday, and were quite pleasantly surprised.

The room was clean, with plenty of seating available. We arrived Kate morning, and breakfast choices (muffins, croissants) were still available. These were then replaced with some cream of mushroom soup in a tureen, with some choices of bread rolls. Also available were cream crackers, cheese, olives, crisps, and cherry tomatoes.

Drinks were plentiful, from hot drinks,juices, spirits and bottled beers.

TV was on, newspapers were available and plenty of sockets to charge electronic devices.

I'm not sure I would pay £18 pp to use it, but we did enjoy our experience of it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We normally use T2 Escape lounge which is generally very good. However, it was full this time so we used the nearby alternative.

The refreshments were very poor. The only food preparation that seemed to have taken place was lifting cellophane packed croissants out a box. Or pouring pretzels out of a bag into a bowl.

Constantly running out of cups and glasses. Aside from Chang beer and a few spirits, the drinks were poor. All soft drinks were in large bottles left open to go fIat.

Tables looked grubby.

Never again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Styal Lounge also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Styal Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Styal Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.