We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
1 New York Street, Manchester M1 4HD, England
0161 228 3856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Been a couple of times now with my friends and I have to say everything is perfect Everytime, food is excellent, service is amazing and cocktails are brilliant. Extra credit to Ashlie the waitress, absolutely lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    134
    35
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cocktails galore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited this place with my hubby as a celebration for his birthday. We were seated quickly and presented with a menu. Our server was excellent, advised us to try the edamame beans....excellent recomendation! I had a starter of calamari, hubby had nachos both delicious, infact I would go as far as to say my callamari was the best I had tasted. For mains I had scampi and hubby had haloumi open sandwich, we both had salt and pepper chips. Everything was delicious and how it was served up just made it special. I agree that it is on the dearer side but not over priced at all. We then decided to move to a sofa abd proceeded to try a few cocktails each....amazing! The atmosphere of the place is lovely and the guys who work here are attentive without being overbearing and cannot rate them enough. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is but cool place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Friends have raved about The Alchemist and we've never had the chance to visit.
The cocktails are fantastic and taste as good as they look, the food was ok and again is presented very well although a little expensive for what it is.
Really trendy décor and very popular with 20 to 30 year olds but a bit 'chainy'
Enjoyed the whole experience but wouldn't rush back there are nicer places to eat at better value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excitingly different cocktails, friendly staff and a great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We popped in for a drink on my husband's birthday at the end of a fun packed day and it didn't disappoint! The cocktails were like something out of Willy Wonka. They fizzed, bubbled and changed colour and best of all tasted amazing! The girl that served us was very friendly and informative and wasn't put off at all by my over enthusiastic squealing! A fantastic experience, we'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous cocktails, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

A large party of us booked in for a meal, from start to finish the service was excellent. We loved the place, and have been spreading the word all day, you just go for a cocktail.
The cocktails were really contemporary and fascinating to watch , I loved the chemistry feel to the cocktails and the food, My cosmopolitan, although expensive was fabulous, one of our party had a Martini, although enjoyable at £11 was really a one off .
Starters were very tasty although the meatballs starters were not great value and again overpriced. Rest of the food was really tasteful and reasonably priced, although portions overall were a little on the small side .
The service throughout the evening was exceptional, well worth a visit, I will certainly be returning .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alchemist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.