We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seoul Kimchi

Seoul Kimchi
275 Upper Brook Street | M13 0HR, Manchester, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 1,760 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Opening Times :Mon-Sat 11:00 - 21:30Sun 12:00 - 20:00Phone : 0161 273 5556
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I first visited Seoul Kimchi many years ago just a few months after the restaurant first opened, but the menu has changed a lot since, many more dishes, free roasted barley tea (boricha) and the addition of homemade ice creams.

We were unsure what to order for our starter so went for a selection of sushi: prawn, octopus and salmon, two salmon and avocado temaki. The sushi was very nice, fresh and full of sweet and rich flavour, the prawn and salmon were especially nice. The temaki were much bigger than we expected and were equally as good, both were served with soy sauce and wasabi paste.

Before the arrival of our starters we were treated to a trio of small appetisers (banchan): the obligatory kimchi, fermented soy beans, and mung bean jelly in soy and sesame oil with spring onion and chili (nokdumuk). They were all very nice, the mung bean jelly being particularly tantalising.

For our main course we ordered pork gyoza, jeon (pancake) with seafood, and beef bibimbap. Which we accompanied by a complimentary bowl of miso soup, which was very tasty.

The gyoza were excellent, perfectly formed, crisp, full of wonderful broth and tender flavoursome meat. The jeon was very nice, crisp on the outside and soft in the centre, packed full of onion and spring onion and a generous array of sea food: prawn, mussels, octopus, and squid, very nice when dipped in some soy sauce. The beef bibimbap was a nicely constructed with a fried egg in the centre and small piles of julienned carrot, daikon, courgette, mushroom and minced beef which had a delicious sweet and meaty flavour. All of these accompaniments came atop rice sizzling in a stone pot with a squeezy bottle of chili sauce, you then apply the sauce and mix everything together to create a delicious dish. It was great.

For desert we had homemade ginger ice cream, which was brilliant, the best ice cream I've had for a long time. The flavour of the ginger was just right, with the right amount of sweetness and creaminess to the fire of the ginger, you could tell it was made with real ginger too as there was the occasional piece of ginger in each spoonful.

All of this for a tickle under £32.

The only criticisms I have is that the clearing up service was slow, there was only one person serving and it was hot inside with little ventilation.

On a side note the roasted barley tea was very refreshing (and free of charge) and I bought a packet of Korean grape sweets which were nice.

Overall an excellent meal, will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome wee place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have visited Seoul Kimchi quite a few times now and absolutely love it. We generally go for the Korean food so can't say much about the Japanese side of things, but everything we've had has been absolutely delicious - beautifully flavoured and well-cooked - with good, quick service. Love the wee side dishes that come with each meal - always intriguing to taste new and interesting things. We would particularly recommend the need Bulgogi and the Bibimbaps!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh food at an excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The food here is delicious, from the authentic korean dishes to the sushi. Everything is superb and there's so much to try you'll need to come back time and time again. Oh, and try the plum tea - it's amazing!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent korean food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This little restaurant has to be one of my favourite in Manchester. Despite only having capacity for up to 20 people, they appear to employ many chefs as you're never waiting long for your food. The menu is extensive with many Korean and Japanese dishes. I've tried quite a number of items off the menu.. and always thoroughly enjoy what they serve (though some Japanese meals like the curry / sashimi aren't as good as at the Japanese restaurants in Manchester).
They always bring out some interesting little sides to start off, and although they don't sell alcohol, there is a self-service drinks area with water/cold barley tea for free, and some korean drinks in the fridge that you pay for with your food.
Their ice cream is excellent; sometimes I want to go here just for the ice cream! They have many unusual flavours but all are amazing, and the price is reasonable, but then everything here is well priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We've discovered so many favourites in the place, and always found the staff to be really helpful in explaining things to us in helping us to explore new options.
They've even gone so far as to help us find recipes for home use.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seoul Kimchi also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Seoul Kimchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seoul Kimchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.