We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is nothing wrong with it - but it is way too expensive - Bewleys restaurant at Dublin Airport is so much better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Brasserie at Bewley's Hotel Manchester Airport

The Brasserie at Bewley's Hotel Manchester Airport
Outwood Lane | Manchester, Manchester M90 4HL, England
+441614980333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $16 - $64
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“There is nothing wrong with it - but it is way too expensive - Bewleys restaurant at Dublin Airport is so much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Service is quick and attentive. A little impersonal.
Food is nothing special, but there is nothing wrong with it, although I know that you can have much better food in Manchester, but not if you are staying just one night and want to go to sleep.

They expect you to book, and if you have done so, service is quick and you are assigned to your table.
But very often, I have the suspect, it is a little pretentious to ask for a booking in a restaurant which is half empty.

You should eat here when you want to have a quick meal before going to bed, and to catch an early morning flight.

But, I would definitely not invite anyone for a business meal here.

As said, I prefer the Bewleys restaurant at Dublin Airport, much better food. (Agree, similar, but probably a better cook).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    61
    22
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South East England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arriving at 2100 on a flying business trip means an on site restaurant is great, so booking this hotel we thought done deal. Not to be thought. On arrival there was a Spanish (I believe) gentleman who greeted us and asked for our room numbers before seating us. His English is rather poor and when we asked him to repeat he tutted and asked again for our room numbers. Once seated we were not asked for a drinks order, instead left for 5 minutes with the menus which were already on the table. When the waitress came over to take our order she asked about food first, of which we both just ordered steak main courses. My colleague asked what the steak came with and was told chips, so he asked for a side of mushrooms to be told "oh yeh there is also a mushroom on your dish too" so no side order placed. She then did ask if we wanted drinks and when I asked what white wines were sold by the glass she picked up a wine menu and obviously not knowing what she was reading went ahead and read either the country or the grape, I think what ever she understood. eg "we have a Spanish one, or a Chardonnay". Food and drinks ordered we waited about 10 minutes for the drinks which were then closely followed by the food. No condiments offered we tucked in. The sirloin at £18.95 came with 1/2 a small mushroom, onions & chips. All were fine in quality just nothing special in flavour or presentation and not worth the price in my opinion. Desert menu was offered and declined, no coffee or additional drinks offered and after 10 minutes of our plates being taken away the bill was brought over. All in all a below par service experience with adequate but over priced food. This would put me off booking a room here again as there is nothing within walking distance that is obvious as an alternative eatery.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Tasty basic grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Ate here to avoid the nasty food at the Crowne Plaza next door. Nice tasty wholesome food and reasonable service for a large hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a massive disappointment. The service was just awful and the food was average and overpriced. It was very busy so that could explain the slow service but they also got the order wrong. I would not stay at the hotel or eat at the restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

There was a reasonable vegetarian choice but the service was slow and not individual.
Each course was brought by a different person.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie at Bewley's Hotel Manchester Airport also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Brasserie at Bewley's Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brasserie at Bewley's Hotel Manchester Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.