We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat before you get there!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carluccio's

Carluccio's
Manchester Piccadilly Station, Manchester, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 1,640 restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
sidcup
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Eat before you get there!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a fab family visit we were heading back to London on the train service from Manchester Piccadilly to Euston and thought it made sense to eat dinner altogether at Carluccios on the station....we wish we hadn't it was truly dreadful, topped by appalling service from three different people. Yes we did have two small children with us but they were perfectly well behaved shame about the staff!!! and more importantly the food. Liver and bacon was stringy and fatty, the sea bass portion , 0ne small fillet, was mean and over cooked and the children's meals were tiny bowels od penne...very tiny indeed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    38
    39
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“THIS IS THE BEST CARLUCCIO'S!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Two of us had a superb late afternoon meal in this Carluccio's located on the first floor of Piccadilly Station. Obviously very empty as was around 4p.m. so had some concern it could be break-time for the main chefs but this was not the case. Having eaten in a number of Carluccios' restaurants, this was the very best. Excellent service and exceptionally good food. I started with my favourite Calamari and the presentation of the dish was better than the London branches I have eaten it in.The rest of our meal was equally good and I would recommend this restaurant as being the best Carluccio's I have eaten in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Oh dear, change of staff = bad changes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

What was once a great place to grab a good bite to eat and have drink whilst waiting for the last train home has now become a rather pretentious less than customer focused run of the mill kind of place.

Dropped in last night for a drink and dessert for my daughter and was very disappointed. There seems to have been a change of staff. An overbearing and pushy waiter - leaning on tables and being 'chatty'. And a very much below par Tiramisu which actually came in a slice! Waiter dismissive of my complaints of the Tiramisu so had to ask to speak to the manager. He had a very dismissive attitude as well but did refund the dessert. We saw other diners commenting on the poor quality of the food - one man's lamb steak was very chewy you could see him struggle with it, and again these were brushed aside with a "Oh sorry, would you like a dessert?"

My 11 year old daughter commented that it "Was just not the same". Please can we have the old staff and food back please.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ate here during the week and it was gorgeous, had the pasta and meatballs. Cooked to perfection. When back in Manchester will definitely be my first port of call

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great to get off the train, meet up with a friend, then get the train out without getting wet. Great service, extra water brought to table without asking. Food on set menu top notch. The best panna cotta ever. 3 courses £15 with tip excellent value. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carluccio's also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Carluccio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carluccio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.