We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place smells damp” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Whim Wham Cafe

The Whim Wham Cafe
Arch 64, Whitworth Street West | M1 5WQ, Manchester, England
+44 161 236 0930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #350 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“This place smells damp”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We went on a Saturday night for a friend's birthday meal. There is a good selection of drinks including guest beers. The wine list is good but short. There are cocktails but we didn't get one. The venue wasn't busy but the service was very slow. Food took ages to arrive. People went for the range of pies and seemed to be happy with their choices. I had a lamb casserole which was good but the portion was too small. I was still hungry but didn't fancy any of the desserts - too cold for ice cream in December. Some people had the Bakewell tart which was disappointing and dry. The bill took ages to arrive and it was wrong. The venue has potential but it doesn't work at the moment. I advise you to go somewhere else.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotpoteater, Owner at The Whim Wham Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are sorry that your experience at The Whim Wham Cafe was unsatisfactory. We strive to achieve a high standard with our food and drink and work extremely hard to ensure that every guest experiences this.

We cook our pies from fresh and they do take slightly longer than most meals to come down from our kitchen. This should have been brought to your attention when ordering other dishes and could explain a longer than usual wait for your meals. We are a relatively new eatery and have been endeavouring to iron out any teething problems. We hope our ongoing commitment to great food, drinks and further staff training will build on the majority of positive feedback we have received during a great start-up in 2012.

With regards the damp smell, we did have some burst pipes and other heating issues during November/December. This is our first autumn/winter at Arch 64 and we are working hard to get to grips with the drop in temperature outside and our ability to heat the space sufficiently with the heating system that we have inherited – we are looking into other heating options to ensure our guests are comfortable.

Alix and Jessie (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was really looking forward to visiting the Whim Wham Cafe as I had heard lots of good things. I visited on a Saturday afternoon for lunch and was really dissapointed. I ordered the Autumn Veg Stew, when it came lots of the veg were rock hard, when I told the waitress she said she would ask the chef why, On returning I was told that "as these were root veg they are supposed to be on the crunchy side". I am sure anyone would agree that a hard butternut squash or sweet potato is inedible. Also it was freezing cold inside, myself and my partner were sat in our coats.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotpoteater, Owner at The Whim Wham Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are sorry that your experience at The Whim Wham Cafe was unsatisfactory. We strive to achieve a high standard with our food and drink and work extremely hard to ensure that every guest experiences this. We acknowledged at the time that the vegetable dish that you were served, off our daily Specials menu, was not up to our usual high standard and for this reason did not charge you for your meal, which we hope went some way to make up for this. We do hope that your partner enjoyed their meal.

With regards the temperature, we have had some heating issues over the beginning of the cold months. This is our first autumn/winter at Arch 64 and we are working hard to get to grips with the drop in temperature outside and our ability to heat the space sufficiently with the heating system that we have inherited – we are looking into other heating options to ensure our guests are comfortable.

You say that you have heard lots of good things about us, and we too have received an overwhelmingly positive response from our guests. We are extremely regretful that you could not walk away from your visit talking about a positive experience and would love for you to come back and try our other menu options. Please do make yourself known to us should you return - we would very much welcome the opportunity to give you the proper experience of The Whim Wham Cafe.

Alix and Jessie (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Splendid food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went to the Whim Wham Cafe for food before catching a train and had an excellent meal all served promptly allowing us to catch the train in good time. The music and decor complemented each other well and were a welcome change to the generic 'bar' soundtrack and look. The food was the highlight though... Interesting local ingredients and flavour combinations cooked perfectly. Keep up the good work.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Different for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Had no idea what to expect when a friend booked this during a girlie weekend in Manchester, after initial unsure reaction when we walked in, it turned out to be a very pleasant experience. Food was fab chicken pie mash and peas it was delicious. Gin cocktails were lovely if a little expensive. Would definitely recommend to friends,a different but very enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good cocktails uninspired decor and beers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great gin cocktails, and the food is above average. Sadly this place is let down by a very uninspired & overpriced beer fridge. Ok, so there's loads of uk/local beers there but when UK is at its height in craft brewing and new techniques they stock bland beartown! ok red willow is better but.. still get your act together guys.
Service isn't great, but the cocktails are good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whim Wham Cafe also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Whim Wham Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whim Wham Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.