We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy breakfast for less
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

I stayed here on my wedding night as my reception was in Manchester city centre.

The staff were lovely from the start. I went in two days earlier dressed very scruffily (and felt very out of place in the gorgeous lobby!) in a mad dash and asked to have a look around, check where the wedding car could pull up and look at the room service menu - the female receptionist was lovely and treated me just the same as she did when I arrived looking all posh on my wedding day.

On the day the concierge was great and helped us to get a speedy seat in the restaurant as we sorted our bags etc out. When we arrived back from our meal a plate of chocolates had been left in our room with a message congratulating us on our wedding which was really lovely.

As we were on a budget we stayed in the cheapest type of room with breakfast. The room was nice, we were overlooked by flats which are pretty close but it didn't bother us. The bathroom was gorgeous and the pressure in the wetroom shower was amazing!

The staff at breakfast the next day weren't exactly speedy but the food was gorgeous with a lot of variety.

I've not stayed in a UK 5 star hotel before so I don't know what other people experience but we couldn't have asked for more from this hotel.

We loved staying in this hotel, it was a great way to start our married life and we plan on going back for our anniversary next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
Dear Reviewer.

Thank you for your great feedback. Please let me know when you are going to return, so that I can personally make sure your stay is to your complete satisfaction.



Stephen Miles

Voted by Expedia/Trip advisor customers as one of the top one percent Hotels in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,954
    755
    256
    132
    82
See reviews for
276
1,400
173
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Stayed last weekend for 2 nights. Enjoyed the break but would most definitely not class this hotel as a 5 star. Have stayed in far more superior 4 stars. Only very recently stayed at the 5 star Four Seasons - this hotel could definitely do with taking a leaf out of their book. Overall, the room was nice and we quite liked the lay out of the bathroom, not keen on toileteries stuck to the wall - they were definitely refilled rather than replaced - you could tell by the lids!!!! The Staff most defintiely need a course in customer service. Found Reception staff not at all helpful and quite rude and two of the Concierge's were particularly rude and extremley arrogant but one of them was extremely nice. On departure we went to the Concierges' Desk and he just walked away and left us standing there while he stood chatting to 2 people!!!! Although we enjoyed our stay in Manchester we will definitely not be returning to this hotel and apart from the good central location we would not recommend this hotel at all. BEWARE - in the Bar they automatically add 10% gratuity to your bill - eventhough on the drinks menu it states that it is optional!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Dear Reviewer.

We are very concerned to read that our normal award winning standards of customer care were not met. Please be assured your comments will be dealt with immediately.

The Hotel has a very strong “sustainable” policy, the guest toiletries in the room are not only are part of that policy, but are more hygienic than the normal Hotel standard.

I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly, as I would like personally to assure you that we remain focused on being the leading hotel in the city.






Stephen Miles

Voted by Expedia/Trip advisor customers as one of the top one percent Hotels in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Very pleased with our stay (two nights) at the Radisson Edwardian. Having read the reviews on here we knew what to expect and were not disappointed.
Hotel has a great location (central and historic) and the Metro is 50 metres from the door.
Staff were all pleasant and helpful and we would not hesitate to return or to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

stayed for two nights. hotel architecture and interior design is very impressive, beautiful lobby. i was checking in late, around 11.30pm, had to get past two very intimidating doormen to be allowed in. checkin staff were not very friendly and welcoming. room very tastefully decorated, bizarre bathroom/washroom layout, the wash basin is outside the bathroom in the sleeping area, the bathroom itself has no washbasin so you have to leave the bathroom to wash your hands. aircon/heater wasn't working, room was very cold even after turning up the temperature, it blasted out cold air. hotel is quiet and doesn't seem cater for the stag night/hen night brigade so that is a bonus.
overall very well designed hotel, lots of potential, staff need to work on their customer service skills. definitely not 5* (i've stayed in many international 5* hotels),it's a good 4*. the lowry is far superior.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
As the leading hotel in the City we take customer comments very serously indeed. Please note i personally reply to every review, no other else does do they even look?.
Our bathroom design is very popular with our guests, particulary with peolpe that are sharing rooms" the separate wet area" means your not waiting to get in the bathroom!.

Many thanks for your feedback about your check in.


We look forward to welcoming you back very soon


Stephen Miles

Voted By Expedia's Customers as one of the top 1% of hotels in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I was impressed on arrival to this hotel, it had a good feel about it. Checking in was good, however they had not got the message from LateRooms that the room was to include breakfast. The lady on reception added it to the room and I thought that was that. On the first morning at breakfast we had been missed off the list so I had to explain the mistake that had already happened again and eventually we got our breakfast, this also happened on the second day. The customer service at breakfast was a disgrace for a 5 star hotel, their were tables left right next to us with plates etc on them the entire time we ate. The staff were foreign and didn't know how to tidy up or get our order of tea or coffee correct, felt like telling one of them to cheer up, but I guess this is what you get in a city hotel nowadays.
We ate in Opus One which we enjoyed, but only eat here if its for something special as its quite expensive. The spa was nice if not a little small. In all a good hotel but overshadowed by very poor customer service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
We are sorry that you were led to believe that your rate included breakfast, when infact it
did not.

That Saturday morning i am afraid everybody came down for breakfast at the same time we which is a very rare ocuurance, we apoligise that you did not recieve our normal award winning standards for breakfast.

Stephen Miles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Dear Radisson Edwardian,
We've spent months staying with you over the last few years and you've become an old friend who we would never leave, not even for the glamorous new Hilton down the block or the famed Lowrie with its gorgeous decor and superb afternoon tea. We love your downtown location and your comfy rooms. We've watched your service improve dramatically. We know that Gary, your head concierge, is one of the best there is. Your fitness center is easily one of the best we've seen in the UK and we adore your breakfasts. We've even gotten used to your hyperactive shower which often floods the floor.

If you want to become even better, and more up to date, here are a few suggestions. I know from housekeeping that many people have made them over the years but please allow me to add my voice to the chorus:

1) Get some curtains that really keep out the light. A lot of hotels are now doing this and there is no reason for you to lag behind the rest of the industry.
2) I know Brits like soft mattresses but I venture to say yours are far too soft. Every time I come, I ask for a bed board and I know that others do too.
3) Ditto the bedside lights. Those laser-like beams from above are too light for bedtime reading. Why not go to Heal's or Ikea and just buy a few dozen bedside lamps with 60 or 75 watt bulbs? I know you will get a lot of use from them.
4) Banish the toast rack forever and put in a toaster that everyone can use at breakfast. Bringing everyone their own toast each morning is a lovely idea but it always arrives cold. Why not let us all make our own toast so it's piping hot when we eat it, as toast should be?
5) Nice, but not essential: a proper business center with a fax, photocopier and printer.

I will be so sorry to leave you this week and am already looking forward to my next visit back. Thank you for everything. Please don't be offended by my constructive suggestions.

Regards from a satisfied customer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
It's your old freind here!! Great comments.
Please note changes to buisness centre .
The blinds have now been replaced through out the Hotel.
We unfortunatley dont like the toaster in the restaurant idea SORRY!! but we will make sure you get hot toast.

Stephen Miles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

From the moment I walked in through the door all the staff were really helpful, cheerful and friendly. The hotel itself has a superb, relaxing and delightful ambience and very spacious. The rooms are modern, clean and well equipped. The location was perfect for me for my conference and close enough to the shopping area and night life too. It's difficult to fault anything.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.