We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatter's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hatter's Hostel to your Saves list
Hatter's Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   50 Newton Street, Manchester, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Duisburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was a mistake to go to Manchester because there is definitely nothing to do in the city. Ok, there is one thing really interesting that is visiting the Industrial revolution museum. he hostel compensated it a bit since I met some cool people there and we hung out together. Breakfast is ok, actually a bit poor. Staff helpful and friendly as you will see all over the UK.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    89
    40
    25
    22
See reviews for
3
16
79
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

7 of us wanted a cheap night out n manchester.. hatters hostel is right in the middle and at only £7 a night was well worth going. it was really really clean and breakfast was open 24/7 . you made it yourself in the kitchen so when we came back at about 4.00 it was great... we alll stayed in the same room. in bunk beds.. the room held 9. it was so clean.. the showers were down the corrider. again very clean. .
just what you need to put yor head down for the night

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I only stayed here for one night but would have stayed longer. Surprisingly a room of 10 there was only 2 other people in the room. It was very clean and extremely close to everything. I have no complaints about it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Had stayed here before and they said it had improved Wrong
receptionist couldn't speak English
had private room filthy dirty
door didn't lock
blinds didn't shut
showers in the shared block filthy dirty
if you're male watch out for the prostitutes that rent rooms if you're female they try to get you to become one
manager doesn't care at all

better staying at premiere Inn and if you book in advance its cheaper than this hell hole

NEEDS CLOSING DOWN

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights here last week and stayed in an 18-bed dorm at the Newton Street Hatters. We found the hostel to be comfy and were well impressed with the free tea/coffee/hot choc and toast available to us 24/7, plus inclusive continental breakfast. The communal areas were pleasant to hang out in. My only gripes were that my mattress had some evil springs inside it- but such is life. Generally we both slept surprisingly well with there being so many folk in the room!
Hatters has a great location and I'd definitely stay here again. Manchester itself is a great hub of street art and music, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hostel is right in the middle of the city, close to train and bus stations. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The recreation room with free wifi or computers you can buy time on is also equipped with tea/coffee making facilities and toasters which is available 24hours. This really is great value for money and I will use it again next time I am in the UK.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I had a ball at the Hatters (on newton st, can't comment on the hatters chambers hostel which is around the corner from this one). If you are looking for a friendly party hostel this is for you. If you like quiet and solitude i'd give it a miss.

It is noisy because doors slam, traffic goes past - this is what happens when you stay in the centre of a city! As others have commented the showers are.... not great. I don't have a problem with communal bathrooms (gender specific) but not being able to change the temperature of the water does annoy me. I was there on and off for a day here and a day there over the course of a month whilst i explored the north of england, and in the middle of a heatwave having to have a hot shower was not what i wanted!

Kitchen is pretty good, and the constant supply of bread for toast, as well and tea and coffee is a nice touch.

The wifi is slow, so don't expect to be downloading your favourite tv shows, but for general browsing it's fine. One final warning - the lift is not available for guests (tho they will take your luiggage upstairs for you) So if you can't cope with a couple of flights of stairs this isn't the place for you.

Reviewing what i've said, it sounds like its a bit crap, but trust me it isn't. I had an absolute ball, and as a whole found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. I travel by bike, and they were totally cool with letting me keep it inside, and even supplied me with a bucket and cloths in order to give it a clean after i got back from the coast, and even kept an eye on it when i left it outside to dry. I guess as with all establishments, your opinions of staff is entirely dependent on which ones you deal with and if you catch them on a good day - don't get me wrong, some staff are nicer than others (particular shout out to kirsty for being friendly and helpful).

The pricing of the rooms is kindof odd- the larger dorms can cost more than the smaller dorms! and the wekend pricing is a bit steep but overall a great hostel.

Room Tip: ask for a room on an odd numbered floor if you're a bloke, and an even numbered floor if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatter's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatter's Hostel

Address: 50 Newton Street, Manchester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatter's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hatter's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatter`s Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatter's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.