We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as people say” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Manchester Ancoats

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Manchester Ancoats to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Great Ancoats Street | Ancoats, Manchester M4 5AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 117 hotels in Manchester
Stockton on Tees
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not as bad as people say”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here as came by train to Manchester Picadilly and it was only a 10 minute walk from station. We got our room for £32 so thought it was worth it considering where it is. We booked a meal deal for £9.95, which we were pleased with and breakfast online too which wasn't bad value for money. We went to the Apollo on sat night, which was half an hour walk so it was ok for us. It was small, but clean, pillows were very thin, but bed ok, just needed a new kettle. Would stay again under same conditions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    100
    88
    64
    44
See reviews for
37
83
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Well what do you expect, it's a travelodge, standard rooms, but in a handy position for everywhere we needed to get to, plenty of pubs to hand and the printworks only a short distance away ( in fact we walked there and taxi'd back ).

Room Tip: Ask for a bath if you want one, there's only a few available, and always ask for two extra pillo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is well past its sell by date. The rooms are old and shabby. It is a hike to the car park. But the biggest problem is the hotels policy to overbook itself, which means the last guests in get shipped to another hotel, which on arrival at 11:30pm is a further 1 hr before you will see a room! Evening meals are microwaved packet stuff, generally tasteless. Bar consists of fridge behind counter with cans of beer/soda. It is not an area of town you would want to explore!
I booked 2 nights, left after 1 and will not be returning, now removed from our company hotel list!

Room Tip: Get there early to even get a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As stated stayed at hotel one night, initial problem on arrival is no free parking, £8.00 to park close to hotel. booking in was good and greeted well by reception.

Room was basic but clean . Bathroom was not supplied with toilet roll or toilet brush, and room had only 2 pillows for a double bed.

Was concerned that electric kettle and wall heater would not pass a PAT testing safety check due to damage and poor repair. and that a iron they supplied also failed to meet safety standards.

Food on offer at the hotel is of poor quality , evening meal consisted of microwaved food and poor quality salad , At £22.00 pounds for a starter and main course for two , it was cheap enough but poor quality. Breakfast is a buffet type layout which had not been prepared properly, fruit juice dispenser delivered foul tasting water instead of the apple juice displayed , not serving spoons were provided and the electric conveyor type toaster had not been assembled properly so the toast fell at the back of the machine. The range of breakfast is quite good but only scrambled egg on offer from buffet and food was again of poor quality, certainly not worth the £8.00 per head charge.

Overall the staff were very pleasant and helpful with the exception of the manager who responded to me informing him about the fruit juice dispenser being faulty by just walking off and returning with a refill without any verbal response at all.

A conversation with the staff also revealed that the hotel is always busy on Friday and Saturday evenings with stag and hen parties, and can some times become quite noisy.

Overall a cheap hotel with very little to offer and not somewhere I would want to be on a Friday or Saturday.

Room Tip: Not Known, stayed in room 212 which was quite, but hotel was not full , as it always is on the Frida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked 2 rooms for the weekend with the family (our girls were here for the One Direction concert so it was a busy weekend). I know Travelodges are basic as we have stayed in them before in Birmingham and London and upon Arrival the room looked spacious but the bed was awful you rolled together the minute another person got on it and behind the sofa bed was a tampax. There was only 2 lots of bedding in each room even though there were 2 children to each room. we requested the extra bedding but only a quilt and sheet were given as they had run out of pillows??? there were only 2 towels to each room too!
Then in one of the rooms the underneath bed was missing its mattress and there were wet stains and broken glass over the bottom. By this point I didn't even bother to complain again and the girls shared the double bed instead.
The TV's were next to useless as we only got 4 channels and everyone of them had a snowy picture also the remotes for TV's didn't work.
Then the breakfast which we had pre-booked was not the best quality. there were too many people for the the small dining area and the staff were running around like headless chickens trying to keep up with the supply of food, cutlery and plates causing queues even for cereal.
I would not use this Travelodge again and for 2 rooms and breakfast for 2 adults it come to over £82 definitely not value for money

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back as the sirens and cars kept me awake most of the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I am usually pretty satisfied with Travelodge's, they are budget hotels so I don't mind the occasional stain on a sofa as long as I feel it is generally clean and that has been the case the two previous times that I have stayed at this specific Travelodge.

However this time the issue was so bad that I feel I have to write this review. Upon my arrival I walked into the room, it wasn't in great condition but I was generally OK with it, I found it a bit strange that there was a pair of tights wrapped around the smoke detector but it was OK. Unfortunately when I entered the bathroom I noticed a huge blood smear on the bathroom wall. I have no idea how it was missed and frankly I find it disgusting that it was allowed to stay there and was clearly completely ignored by the cleaner.

I can let a lot of things go but another person's blood smeared on my wall is completely unacceptable, not to mention a huge health and safety issue.

I will say that I have had no problems before and am staying at this hotel again in June so hopefully there will be no more blood but this was too bad for me not to leave this review.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

on arrival at the hotel the check in was great and we soon got to our family room. the room was spacious and clean probably one of the better rooms i've had in a travelodge to be honest, this was at 1st sight then noticing the double bed that was horrendous it was a old mattress that sunk in the middle and the springs you could feel throughout the mattress. we stayed for 2 nights whilst we took out girls to the 1 direction concert so as you can imagine it was a busy weekend. i felt sorry for the staff they were running round like headless chickens but they were helpful, breakfast time on the Saturday and Sunday morning were crazy for the amount of rooms they have the breakfast area was tiny so it was manic trying to get breakfast.we had also pre paid for breakfast but as the staff were running around doing everything they could we could of easily of got a free breakfast out of the company. the hotel itself was ok the staff were pretty good its just a shame on the beds being as they were as i found myself getting minimal sleep on both nights :(

Room Tip: get your room booked early for cheap offers but id try make sure your bed was better than mine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Manchester Ancoats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Ancoats

Address: 22 Great Ancoats Street | Ancoats, Manchester M4 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 117 hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Manchester Ancoats 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Ancoats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats Hotel Manchester
Travel Lodge Manchester
Manchester Travel Lodge
Manchester Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Manchester Ancoats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.