We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilmslow Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 5WZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here couple of times previously when away on business, plenty of parking, good leisure facilities, OK breakfast, food is OK but bit overpriced in the bar area, rooms are now getting tired and in need of refurb, basics are there but bathroom very tired with leaky taps and shower and loads of silicone trying to seal everything up. Will do the job for a night out in didsbury but don't expect anything special, for the price it's ok but you'll find better now.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    79
    57
    60
    78
See reviews for
52
132
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cleveleys
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

when we arrived . the the first room only had a shower and my wife wanted to have a bath . they upgraded us to a room with a bath , no problems at all , they were very help full . the room was clean , breakfast was nice cant complain . with a good view . had a meal at the restaurant average 15 pound , steak and chips , used prop chips not this frozen food crap . lol . could not fault the leisure complex next to reception, large swimming pool two steam rooms two Jacuzzi , two Saunas . japanese pool . and a well equipped gym .Solarium. free Wi-Fi Available In Public Areas.plenty parking space .and nice and quite at night , you are a , . 5 min drive into cheadle town centre .i cant comment on other rooms . but the bar restaurant and reception was clean and modern .

Room Tip: aske to look at the room first . if your not happy , if its in there power they will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went on Christmas Day for our dinner this was the first time we had ever eaten out on Christmas Day and I most say I was most impressed. The food from starters to desserts was absolutely amazing we couldn't fault it at all. There was plenty of entertainment for the children with a very friendly clown and also an appearance from the great man himself Father Christmas .
My whole family had a great time and we would certainly come again especially at Christmas. What could be better someone else cooking the dinner and doing all the washing up.........bliss...
Well done to all the staff for making our day a great day out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Well what can i say; constant compliments from the guests at my party whether it was the room or the spread they put on! I was always able to contact the hotel with any queries, everything i asked for i got, they were all more the helpful! The service i received after the party was amazing too, i was able to leave party decorations and cake with them until the next day, they allowed me to sleep in an hour after check out and all i received were smiles from reception when i checked out. If i was to have another party i would definitely do it here! The DJ they use too was an excellent DJ and one of the best i have experienced at a party. The hotel staff were great too as the party lasted an extra half an hour than it should of done, again another example of the hotel exceeding my expectations. Thanks so much for everything i would definitely recommend to anyone!

Many thanks,
Cat

Room Tip: Go for the larger room (3 bed gives just that extra space and only for an extra £5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in the Waterside for two nights and had been really looking forward to our stay. The website made the hotel look positively luxurious but that was not our experience. Location is good for Didsbury, Cheadle, etc. The room was small but otherwise looked OK. It was clean, I must add. But my complaints are numerous:

* windows leaked cold air throughout the night and it was December in Manchester; had to try and block the draft with towels but that was only partially effective
* radiator made very loud "popping" noises throughout the night, about every 30 minutes
* the single bed was particularly lumpy and uncomfortable
* shower was strange - it blasted out very forcefully and there is no shower curtain (the whole bathroom is the shower) which meant the entire room gets soaked; the evidence is clear from the rotting door that this is not a good design
* breakfast was adequate to poor (would have enjoyed a greater variety / quantity of fruit and/or vegetarian options)
* corridors were chilly (probably from leaking windows all over the hotel); breakfast area was also cold, it looked like insulation was a problem there as well
* metal corridors outside our window made loud bangs as workers arrived at around 05:00am (I wasn't sleeping very well!)
* place looks like it was made to look expensive but used poor quality materials / workmanship

I figure the relatively high price is probably because their energy bills are very high. Leisure facilities looked decent but wasn't tried. Bar area is nice, but there is no quiet corner to escape the unfortunate CD they had playing. Basically, an adequate hotel but poor value for money. Go elsewhere.

If a manager(s) reads this, I stayed in room 212. abdekker <dot> online [at] fsmail DOT net.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I visited The Waterside on a Saturday this December fully expecting to be horrified having read reviews on this site. However the bar and restaurant areas were fine (bit pricey, but fine). The staff were great - friendly and happy to serve after closing time etc.
The rooms were basic and a bit dated. But clean, warm and comfortable. It did the job for a one night stay over....cheap n cheerful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at the waterside on Saturday evening arriving at the hotel I thought it looked nice and was really looking forward to a night away with my husband, thats until I walked into the room or should I call it a flee pit. There was mould on the wall and carpet, sick stains on the curtain and plaster hanging off the wall with some kind of stain peeping out under the mirror. The room was freezing with just an old electric wall heater and a stained woollen blanket not the romantic setting I was looking forward too. The bathroom was dirty with cracked tiles I didn't even bother with the shower!!!! Breakfast was cold but the sandwich in the bar for dinner the night before was nice. Overall I would never go back, I wouldn't of stayed on the night but everywhere in the area was booked up don't waste your money, book a premium inn!! Lisa

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona R, Manager at The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Lisa,

I have read with concern your comments regarding your stay here at The Waterside Hotel on Saturday night. I have tried to ascertain from the system which room you were booked into so I can investigate the allegations you have made but am not able to do so from your first name only. Please advise which room you stayed in or call the hotel direct with this information. I was duty manager on this night and was not made aware of any complaints of this nature. It was particularly cold on Saturday and when another guest complained the room was not warm enough a fan heater and extra bedding was taken to his room straight away. Inventories of the bedrooms are complied daily to ensure any maintenance issues are reported promptly so I am somewhat surprised to hear these comments.

I look forward to your response.

Regards

Fiona Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Wilmslow Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 5WZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 8 acres of landscaped gardens on the banks of the River Mersey, The Waterside Hotel is just 10 minutes from Manchester Airport. There is a restaurant, leisure centre and free Wi-Fi.The comfortable rooms at Waterside each have a private bathroom, tea and coffee facilities and a flat-screen TV with Freeview. There is also free parking and a 24-hour front desk.Guests have use of the newly refurbished Leisure Club, which features a 25-metre swimming pool, hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel And Galleon Leisure Club
The Galleon Hotel Leisure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.