We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice- love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Didsbury House

Save Saved
You added Didsbury House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Didsbury House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 117 hotels in Manchester
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stayed twice- love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Both of our stays here have been so enjoyable. We have stayed in classic rooms both trips and were not disappointed. The staff are always friendly and polite and both rooms we have stayed in were lovely- so well decorated, clean and have everything you need. The bathrooms are spotless with huge baths and really nice showers. In the rooms they have a really helpful booklet which includes recommendations of restaurants, etc nearby. We have not eaten here as it is so close to bars and restaurants in Didsbury that we have gone out both times.

Definitely recommended to any couples who want a nice break!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. I am so happy you enjoyed both your stays and we hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Maybe even to try our upcoming new menu.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    76
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
148
12
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at Didsbury house for my Birthday this year, my wife had booked it as a surprise.

The hotel was fantastic, lovely surroundings and the room was immaculately clean and furnished to a very high standard.

After returning from Didsbury town centre that evening we sat in the residents bar till the early hours talking to the bar staff who were happy to serve us until we retired to the room

The next day we went to breakfast, which I must say was the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel and I stay away 2-3 nights a week with work in a variety of national hotel chains.

The personal touch in this hotel made the difference and I will make sure I stay again.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone
* * * * *
5 Stars

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you found the personal touch that we offer made the difference. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future, maybe even your next Birthday.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Was looking forward to staying here but was very disappointed. Not the quality you would expect from a small 4 star hotel. Stayed in an Eclectic room but didn't think it had anything over a standard chain hotel (except for a roll top bath in the room that faces a window with no blinds, is built up making it dangerous to get out of and has nowhere near to hang your towel, so they should have left it in the bathroom). Rubbish TV, the most basic tea tray and toiletries, extremely warm room and noisy. House keeping let themselves into our room twice at 8.30, they started hovering the corridor at 9.15 and when we went to use the gym it was full of furniture. Management said we should have put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door, which I would have if there would have been one! The shower was fabulous though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations on this occasion. Please if you can contact me direct on aboneham@11didsburypark.co.uk and I can discuss further.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel. We wanted somewhere in the South Manchester area rather than city centre and this will definitely be our home away from home when we visit Manchester in future. The room was fairly small but big enough for the two of us, with a lovely huge bath and 'rainforest' shower. Breakfast was great, huge selection and reasonably priced compared to some hotels. Staff were also excellent, all very helpful and charming, and gave us a late check out as they weren't too busy the following day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and especially our 'rainforest showers'. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Our beloved daughter Emma and son in law Chris chose Didsbury House for their wedding in December. One word -Amazing. Service and attention to detail was second to none. All our guests commented on the service and quality of food- a classic venue that we just couldn't fault from start to finish. Rooms were just fabulous as was the food.Thank you Andy and all staff for helping to make the day so memorable, you made us feel special.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. I must say it was a pleasure to Host such an amazing wedding and we are happy that you have such memories that will last forever. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel with great access to motorways and trams into the city. I've been a regular at the sister hotel Eleven (see separate review) was booked into Didsbury Park on a last minute trip. I had a very cool Duplex room (32?) With the bathroom on the mezzanine. After staying at both hotels I've found them both very different, both quirky with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Many Thanks for your recent review. We are very proud of our Hotels and value the custom of our regular guests. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had a lovely evening here mid week. The room was warm, inviting, and had classical music playing on arrival. It also had a free standing bath in the bedroom which was a nice treat. We had dinner in the private dining area which was delicious!
Wish I had had longer to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Didsbury House, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Didsbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didsbury House

Address: Didsbury Park | Didsbury Village, Manchester M20 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Didsbury House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury town house hotelThis luxury Victorian town house is a statement in individual design, bringing influences from around the world to the fashionable suburb of Didsbury.Didsbury House features 27 bedrooms with residents bar and lounges all reflecting the hotels eclectic design and providing a chic urban retreat for both business and leisure guests wishing to enjoy a relaxed stay in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Didsbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Didsbury Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Didsbury House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.