We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eponymous burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Missoula

Missoula
11 Portland Street, Manchester, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #644 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
458 reviews 458 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Good eponymous burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Got change out of thirty quid for two of us and drinks plus a side. Great location and plenty of glass to watch Manchester go by. Fun!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    15
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OK food, very slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Reading the last page or so of reviews, I feel quite fortunate that we didn't experience some of the problems others had. The main issue for my group was the slowness of the food service. We were only in a group of three, but two of us got their food first. I had just started to pick at mine as we were waiting for the third meal to start properly, when the waiter rushed over, whisked my plate away from me and said "sorry, that's wrong". I then waited another 20 minutes for my actual meal to arrive without any further apology. Quite frustrating that we all had to eat separately. The food wasn't really that great either - it was ok.

We did return for breakfast the next morning because it was convenient for our hotel - it was much less busy and the food was good value for money. I enjoyed the breakfast much more than the dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Visited here yesterday (4.4.14) ordered two meals and two cokes. Meals hadn't arrived after fifty minutes, was particularly busy. Spoke to the assistant manager, the most arrogant self loving idiot I've ever come across in my life. Conveniently our meals were just being plated up and would be with us in a minute.

Fifteen minutes later and over an hour in total the most disgusting plate of fish and chips were presented to me and my friend. Batter was almost black as the oil obviously hadn't been changed. Contacted the manager, a lovely bloke called cal I believe. Had a full refund and the offer of a free breakfast which unfortunately we couldn't accept as travelling back home.

This was very kind and although we left hungry, was very impressed by his honesty and professionalism.

But to add one more thing, with regards to the assistant wearing the black blazer who was obviously more concerned by who was looking at him. Your blazer was covered in food stains, your beard was unkept and untidy, your attitude stinks and if I was ever spoken to the way you did to the waitress in full view of customers I would have knocked you on your back side. Your in the wrong job, little man syndrome doesn't bode well in hospitality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lovely bar - didn't eat only had drinks but food looked and smelled delicious so would go again to sample the food. Nice atmosphere and good music. Good selection of drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food? Customer Service?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Party of 10 ladies for lunch - receommended by 2 of us as we had been in here before. OK we did order in pairs rather than as one group and were told that there was going to be a wait. Not a problem when you know even though only ordered burgers/sandwiches.
After 1 hour the pair that ordered last got their sandwiches (and we had seen tables who ordered after us get their food but we presumed that the kitchen staff had decided to serve all 10 meals together).
Over space of the next 1/2 hr another 6 meals arrived leaving us 2 short. So we spoke to a man (who we later found out was the Manager!) who told the lady who was asking where the missing 2 meals were 'I saw you eat the meals!' How he saw the 2 ladies eat their meals as they had their back to the restaurant was beyond us plus there was 8 empty plates and 2 sets of clean cutlery on the table.
The ladies concerned were very angry but calm and clearly stated that they had not eaten the missing meals. The manager went off to the kitchen and 5 mins later came back saying they had served 10 meals and that was that. We realised we were sat under the CCTV so asked to check it with him as we had not been served 10 meals. Manager goes off to the kitchen and 5 mins later comes back and says 'He holds his hands up and the 2 missing meals will be along shortly'. Understandibly we asked for an apology to which the manager states 'he would have offered the whole party a free drink and a refund on the 2 missing meals but seeing as we were being defensive he wasn't going to give us a drink now'.
10 mins later the 2 meals come out (not quite what was ordered but at that point we were just pleased to see 2 meals) with a refund on the 2 meals.
So could we comment on the food, it was average.
Comment on the service: terrible, disgraceful, even the other staff were embarassed re their boss.
Never again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missoula also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Missoula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.