We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited For a Drink only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Wellington

The Old Wellington
4 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
0161 839 5179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You will find The Old Wellington in Manchester within a short stroll of Manchester Cathedral, Victoria Street Station and Exchange Square - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Old Wellington is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Visited For a Drink only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The beer in this pub is top quality well kept beer. This pub is always busy at the weekend and it is sometimes difficult to get a seat. The staff are friendly and efficient and service is quick.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    85
    24
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fell upon this while walking up to the shopping centre, had an excellant breakfast, £10 a couple with tea and toast, amazing.
Staff lovely, lovely pub with lots of history and we came back
the next day for more breakfasts and had drinks in the evening
each night.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“fab food and settings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

after looking for pubs to get some dinner and finding they had all stopped serving, we came across the old wellington, we were swiftly seated by a very pleasant and helpful waitress, our orders came pretty quickly too, althoug the restaurant was not all that busy. i ordered the scampi and chips and it was very tasty. staff were excellent and i would visit again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkliston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great pre-gig atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We travelled down from Edinburgh for the recent Stone Roses gig and drank here with friends before the gig. When we arrived at approx 4pm, the bar was absolutely heaving, as was the large beer garden outside. We still managed to find a seat inside though. There was a great buzz around the whole place, with the majority of drinkers being people going to the gig. The atmosphere was fantastic! By around 7pm the bar had ran out of most lagers , but we were leaving to go the park at 7.30 anyway so we weren't too bothered! I would recommend visiting this bar if you are visiting Manchester.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Fabulous breakfast served here for the bleary eyed, be there before 12noon. Lovely boutique building, olde worlde type, and staff were excellent. I would definately visit again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Wellington also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Old Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.