We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fyg Deli & Wine Bar

Fyg Deli & Wine Bar
42 Tib Street | Northern quarter, Manchester, England
+44 161 478 7100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #591 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, British, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: The Tib Street situated Deli & Wine Bar with its homely atmosphere, cosy decor and fantastic range of wines, cheeses and deli platters, makes you want to not just come back, but never leave in the first place. Fyg opened in 2011 as a mediterranean-inspired deli; serving up strange cheeses, unusual marmalades and curious leaf tea's. On New Years Day 2014, The House of Adventure Group acquired the venue with an aim to hold onto these original elements but introduce hearty breakfasts, superb wines and a relaxed events program. Transforming Fyg into your home from home. Open daily from 10am, Fyg Deli & Wine Bar will cater for your breakfast needs, lunch cravings and supper delights alongside delicious wines for every occasion.
North West England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Found Fyg deli by the reviews on Tripadvisor which were most accurate, it is excellent. My husband had the special of the day salmon fish finger sandwich, it was huge and delicious and served with a little pot of tartar sauce. I asked if they could make a vegan platter for me, which they were more than happy to do. It was excellent and more than enough to eat, it comprised, two slices each of rye and white bread, houmous, mixed olives, harissa spiced aubergine, carrot salad, bean salad, green salad with tomatoes and red pepper pate. My husband had a pot of tea made with huge tea leaves and I had a big mug of americano coffee. It is a very relaxing place, with a couple of comfy sofas, nice furnishings and you could buy various products like chutneys, pasta, sauces etc. We will be back and with it being in the Northern Quarter it was very handy for the Crowne Plaza hotel we were stopping at.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Well worth a visit, especially for the deli platters!

Maybe some chilled/ambient music in the background would be nice - sometimes a little too quiet?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Met up with two friends in Manchester before travelling to Bury for a football match. We came across this wonderful gem by chance and were thrilled by the food and ambiance here. The staff were very helpful and the full breakfast was scrummy! Go visit, you won't be disappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away, we nearly walked past it, but decided on an impulse to go in for a bite to eat. We had a lovely lunch and staff were very friendly. The falafels were scrummy! I would definitely go back if I am in Manchester again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunch at Fyg Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a fantastic addition to Manchester's Northern Quarter! It's a really great little place tucked away in Tib Street (take care not to miss it). Fantastic food: There's a wide menu, but personally, I'm a fan of their deli platters. I've had a few of them now, but when I had my first one I was pleasantly surprised with all the additional salad bits and condiments that came along with it. Being a delicatessen there's a great selection of meats and cheeses, but the venue also purveys items to buy to stock up your own kitchen cupboards with. The staff are friendly and welcoming. This place is just a stone's throw from Manchester's main shopping areas (Market Street / Manchester Arndale) and makes a great alternative to high street chain restaurants and cafes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fyg Deli & Wine Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Fyg Deli & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fyg Deli & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.