We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Aparthotel With Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street to your Saves list
Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   58 - 62 High St, Manchester M4 1EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Burton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Aparthotel With Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in one of the premium apartments for one night. The hotel was easy to find and is literally opposite the Arndale Center so you can't really get a more central location. The check-in was quick and easy and we found the apartment to be quite spacious.

There was a large living area with combined kitchen which had everything you could need. A big TV, IPod dock, coffee maker etc. The WiFi was also quick and painless to set up with the added bonus it is free for the premium rooms.

The bedroom was quite small but the bed was extremely comfy so we had a good night's sleep and we couldn't hear any other rooms.

The bathroom was a decent size with some good toiletries. We had no troubles with the water temperature as some reviews had mentioned and we did not need to use the booster button.

Overall a good stay at a very good price so I would have no trouble recommending this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review Dan. We are glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and agree the beds are very comfy. We hope you return again in the future and we can earn a perfect score.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    16
    9
    15
See reviews for
18
29
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was booked via HotWire.com ( won't be booking with them again but that an other matter ) It was classed as a 5star hotel but this is self catering accommodation. The Appartment living space was really small. it was a dining/ kitchen / living room. The TV was far to large for the room. The Sofa was ripped at the side and the seat cushions sank in the middle. This was not an area you could relax in. The hot water was from an electric boiler and if your ran a bath then that was all your hot water gone.
The location was very central however due to its location it's not possible to get a taxi to park outside due to the road lay out, however taxis do stop very close to the front door.
Wi-fi was charged at £4 per Hour or £10 Per day and for a so called 5 start accommodation i would of expected this to be free.
never book at Saver room from this place as you get less then you would spending the same for a 3 star hotel.
Overall it was ok but i won't be rushing to book it again.

Room Tip: This accommodation is self catering but if you book via an external web site then it is classed as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do provide booster buttons in the apartment for hot water should you require additional hot water. In all of our Executive and Premium apartments Wi-Fi is provided complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed in this apart/hotel recently for my Mum's Birthday and the room was great and initially the customer service also seemed great until we wanted to complain. On the morning after our stay my Mum went to get a shower and was met by freezing water. There is a booster button in the apartment and we used this but the water was still freezing. I called reception who advised of the booster button and I tried again. Still no hot water. I then called reception again and was told I could come and get a key for another room. We had a train reservation and I didn't have time to do this. The receptionist didn't offer to come and check the water or bring a key up to us. They also offered an additional hour to stay and wash but as I explained we had a train to catch. They didn't seem to grasp this point and refused to offer any other compensation, I since complained to the hotel via email, facebook etc and have got the same response. They offered us alternatives on the day and we should be happy with that. Even though none of the options offered helped us get a hot shower and still leave the hotel on time. Shocking customer service. i wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, Owner at Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
As promised this is the response to your review. We will not be blackmailed and threatened to provide a refund when there was hot water in your apartment, as you failed to mention on the above review, and you refused two alternatives to ensure you recieved a hot shower.

Having spoken to the receptionist on duty on Saturday Morning they have advised that they did advise of the provision of a booster button in all apartments and offered to come up and show you this and you declined. I can only assume that this was offered but perhaps not heard by yourself at the time. All of our staff are trained on how to demonstrate the booster button to ensure our guests needs are met should there be any confusion. When this was not accepted and you advised you had tried yourself a room move was offered. These options were offered to ensure that you and your guests were provided with a hot shower on the morning of your departure. Having accepted either of these options rather than waste valuable time waiting to be offered a refund you would not have ‘left the hotel unwashed and thoroughly annoyed’ perhaps only slightly dissatisfied.

As you have informed ourselves you showered on Friday evening with hot water. With this in mind as well as the fact that a) following your departure the hot water was checked by the receptionist and it worked b) the room has been used on three occasions by groups between 2 and 5 people since Saturday without any complaints we do not believe there is/was an issue with the hot water or boiler on the day of your departure.

We will not be offering a refund and if you ‘continue to post to Twitter and facebook until I get better customer service than this poor attempt’ we will respond with the above information to allow our repeat and potential customers to make an informed decision on our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my partner and on arrival was met by a receptionist that explained (in an extremely patronising way) that we had to pay an £100 secrutiy deposit. This was not on the T&Cs on the skyscanner website nor was it on the confirmation email. He was extremely snooty about the whole situation when we explained that we could not afford £100 deposit as we had budgeted for that night out. I felt that him and the other receptionist were looking down their noses at us for not being as "flush" as regular guests. It lead to us having to get a bank transfer by someone at home and left us extremely embarrassed by an unnecessary event as when we were leaving they didn't even check the room before giving us our deposit back. To top it off we still don't have the deposit back because "that is just how long it takes". It was a real shame because the room was lovely and clean and very high standard. But I don't think i'll stay there again as I feel like I'm beneath their usual guests.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We do ensure that our terms and conditions, especially the pre-authorisation, are included on all third party Online Travel Agent Websites and our booking confirmation to ensure our guests are aware of this upon their arrival.

For instance booking.com state 'Please note that a pre-authorisation charge of GBP 100.00 will be taken upon check-in. ID is required, and the card used to make the booking must be presented at check-in for authorisation. Entry will not be permitted if the card is not present.'

The pre-authorisation is not about our guests being 'flush' or of a higher standard. This is a standard security deposit, the main purpose of which is to ensure the card used to pay for the accommodation was done so with the card holders authorisation, thus preventing fraud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

5 of us stayed here for 4 nights in August, best place I've ever stayed in Manchester, so close to everything and the apartment was perfect for all 5 of us, there were a few things missing and we couldnt get the Wifi working, but this didn't detract from our stay and the exceptional service we received, staff were great, especially John and Andre, so helpful and friendly, can't wait until we get to stay again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
This is a lovely review. We agree John and Andre are a credit to Blue Rainbow. We look forward to you returning and our Head of Technology will personally assist should you experience any further Wi-Fi issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over my birthday weekend .... Shopping / theatre break. Location could not be beaten - literally across the tram lines from the Arndale Centre.
As other people have reported, there was some noise into the night ... But this surely must be expected when staying in a busy city location. We appreciated the freedom of being able to cater for ourselves ... Though we were shocked to have been allocated this accommodation as a '5 star hotel' ... We saved a lot on eating out in the end as we were easily able to buy in ingredients to feed ourselves!!! .... There are loads of 'minimarts' nearby ... And An Aldi over the road within the Arndale. We are already talking about returning ... Not 5 star ... But definitely convenient.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our location, facilities and stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

stayed at this hotel...terrible. paid a bucket load and sofa beds are broken,wayer doesnt work, rooms stink of bleach, and it smells DAMP. Only good thing about the stay was the receptionist, i think her name was noreen. such a funny girl, she made the stay worth while considering all the problems. Wouldnt stay again waste of money. But if every hotel had a Noreen it would be good,funny girl.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueRainbowApart, General Manager at Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to publish a review.

Our housekeeping team only use a small amount of bleach in the bathoom with less hazardous chemicals used in the remainder of the apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street

Address: 58 - 62 High St, Manchester M4 1EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated and newly opened in April 2012 our 19 one and two bedroom apartments are located in the heart of Manchester next to The Arndale Centre shopping centre, Print works leisure complex and the MEN Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Rainbow Aparthotel - Manchester High Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.