We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good food, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roebuck

The Roebuck
Church Road | Flixton, Manchester M41 6HD, England
0161 748 4046
Improve this listing
Ranked #916 of 1,642 restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've been several times to the Roebuck with friends and on our own and have always been impressed with the friendly service the choice of food. A pub rather than a restaurant but that's not a criticism. Hard to fault this very busy, pleasant and reasonably priced local.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    7
    8
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“good food, right price, your choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife & i went back to the Roebuck for the umteeth time recently.
The bad new is 2 course special has gone up £1.00 from £12.75 to £13.75 per person which still includes your drink & represents fantastic value in my book, i paid £27.50 for 2 courses for 2 of us including any drink of your choice.
Read the other revievs, we have always had good service & pleanty to eat if anything there is a little too much to eat.
This is a good pub that severes great food at a fair price, if you want to pay more in an uptown restaurant that's your choice.
After 41 years in the catering business i know you cannot please all the people all the time.
For us this place works everytime we go if it failed to work we would stop going.
New on thier menu is a new selection of home made desserts.
Which if you choose you can have a part of your 2 couses for one price eg mains & pud, we usually go for starters & mains but thats up to you.
If you have a sweet tooth although we did not have any ourselves we sore loads of other customers have them & they all looked great, they all finished there portions, that says the proof is there to see.
Eg. Bailleys cheese cake, mars a day chocolate fudge cake, gaint sticky choux, or chocolate explosion & many more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Food good but my Sunday roast was a bit small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited here today and I decided to have Sunday roast, it was beef and Yorkshire pud, with roast spuds and veg, I have to say that the portion was pretty small, I have had many Sunday lunches in puns , but always bigger helpings. Other than the portion size , everything else was good and the food quality and service was excellent. Other diners who were eating fish and chips, steak and chips etc ...all were large portions , I think maybe it's just the roast dinners which are small, I will go agin but order something else next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“a winner every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We only live 10 mins away & we go to the Roebuck regularly.
Red the other review, all i can say is you cannot please all the people all the time.
We, that is my wife ( a top level food scientist) i kid you not & i have been involved in catering one way or another for 41 years.
We think the Roebuck offers excellent pub food at a very attractive price.
Eg choose from a large varied & well planned menu either 2 courses, starter & mains or mains & pud incluning any drink for £12.75 or 3 coures for £14.75 per person. 2 coures is plenty. Although we did have the 3 coures once & were too full. good for vegi's children, disabled, party's, special occasions, young & old alike.
You can be waitress seved if you like but you have to book in idvance.
We always sit in the main bar & give our order at the counter, no particular reason but if you are coming on a Saterday evening get there for 6.30 ish as it can get very busy & it sometimes difficult to get a table after 7pm.
But the last time we went mid July were not busy.
Service is usualy efficient but sometimes a little slow if they are very busy but 9 times out of 10 is very good the longest we waited once was 20 mins but they were pulled out with a big party, so just bad timing on our part, not usually like that.
The waiting on staff are all well turned out clean & friendly.
The daycore is modern, fuctional, comfortable & a pleasent atmosphere.
I always have the prawn cocktail as a starter which is huge portion & very taste.
I like the chichen pie on a bed of mash potatoe always served with the best crunchy vegetables, very tasty & very filling washed down with a nice pint of quality bitter, or good quality white wine as in my wife's case.
We've had some of the puds & they tick all the right boxes eg loads of hot real custard or chocolate sauce dipending what you have ordered.
What more do you want for the price.
Everyday they do different specials.
On the back of their menu are many pubs that are in the same chain up & down the country.
The chain is joseph-holt.com.
They have pubs in 21 districts.
There is a function room upstairs if you have a celebration.
We went to a do once up there the room ok.
only 2 negatives: the car park is not huge, if there is a party or very busy you will have to park on the road, which may require a bit of a walk.
Also they have a big tv so if there is a football match on it can get a bit noisy.
Lastly i dont know to many places to eat 2 coures including your drink for £25.50 for 2 people.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food Ok, Service Terrible!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We went to this restaurant for my nana's birthday, and all i can say is what a mess. The staff are so rude and don't have a clue what they are doing, we asked for butter 3 times until we got it, we waited to be asked what we wanted to eat for 20 minutes from us arriving, they got our drink order wrong, and we asked for mushy peas with our meal and they gave us garden peas! The worse thing is they are not even apologetic about it, they are so so rude!
Also there were 3 members of staff talking about there weekend and all you could hear was swearing and rude gestures, which is totally inappropriate!

The food was ok, but nothing spectacular at all.

If you are thinking of visiting just expect to be served by a load of rude kids with a attitude!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Urmston, Greater Manchester
Urmston, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Roebuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roebuck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.