We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing fancy but lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Faisal Tandoori

Al Faisal Tandoori
58 Thomas Street, Manchester M4 1EG, England
0161 834 3266
Improve this listing
Ranked #330 of 1,764 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“nothing fancy but lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've been meaning to try this place for ages, but have always been tempted by the facnier looking places in the city centre. Went on Saturday for lunch. Friendly and quick service and tasty food- though less salt in the food would have been better for us. 2 curries, 2 garlic naans and onion bhajis came up to £13.20. Next time will opt for other naans, as wasn't keen on the tonnes of garlic powder covering our naans. Looking forward to trying the other stuff on the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best curries in Manchester!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Been going for the last 20 years or so, and never ever, ever been disappointed. Whether eat in or take out, the consistently excellent quality food never fails to hit the spot, and ridiculously reasonably priced too. In fact, in our house, Friday has been renamed Birianiday!, and Thursday is Keemaday (with peasday), Wednesday is Tindaday, Tuesday is Saag-alooday etc. etc.
Tariq and Salim, thank you.
xxx

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Authentic street food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The food is as authentic as you can get. I ordered a plate of chana dhal and a chapatti. The food was fantastic, fresh and flavoursome. The service was excellent. The decor is basic, acceptable and clean. If any of the TV chefs came across this cafe on their overseas travels they would be raving about it so why not give it try and experience proper Asian cuisine at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food was nice,decor was dated !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I went here the other day due to another restaurant being closed which we wanted to eat at but we had a nice lunch here .The only issue that I found was that the selection was limited and there isn't much room .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Greatest Curry money can buy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've been eating here for 18 years, I go out of my way to go into the city centre for the food. regardless of whether i am there for anything else or not.
It is no frills but authentic Indian food, fantastically priced, tasty as you like. Quite literally the tastiest Lamb and Chicken Curry I've ever eaten and the crispy fresh garlic naan's are simply immense. this isn't a restaurant, its a cafe type place, if you want food with the pretentious nonsense, you must go and see what this man can do for you. oh and the Flame grilled tikka!!!!! goodness gracious me its tremendous. hes been there years and I don't know what I'll do when he has gone, he has been promising to teach me for years! a credit to Manchester!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Faisal Tandoori also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Al Faisal Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Faisal Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.