We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we'd expected from other reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Manchester Didsbury

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Save
You added Travelodge Manchester Didsbury to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A34 Kingsway | East Didsbury, Manchester M20 5PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what we'd expected from other reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Despite other poor reviews we found this to be okay. We booked for 5 nights and the staff were helpful. The room was clean and well equipped. Towels changed everyday. No noise as others had reported and easy to find. Beds and sofa bed okay - well used but not in the state others have reported. Would stay again and good value for money. Only problem was an alarm going off in the building opposite during the night - but this was not the fault of Travelodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    71
    52
    52
    57
See reviews for
75
67
29
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed one Friday night and found everything OK. As I have stayed at numerous travelodges before I new what standard to expect.
I had no complaint about the room and the location was excellent. Only a couple of minutes walk from the train station and a small bus terminus right outside. It takes about 25-30 mins on the bus to the centre of Manchester and only 5 mins or so to Didsbury town centre.
The pub next door was fine although not a good place to eat as a single traveller as it is a Two 4 One style place.
Also right next door there is a Cinema ,Pizza/Italian restaurant and Tescos opposite.
There looked to be another pub nearby but it appeared closed and was in the process of being 'done out'.
So I enjoyed my stay, perhaps I got lucky ,or maybe there has been some refurbishment carried out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed in the Parrs wood travel lodge for six weeks, while having treatment at Christies. The staff were friendly especially the young indian lady on the reception desk. She really could not do enough for myself and my daughter while we were there, she even said a prayer for us when she discovered why we were staying so long. Such a nice young lady. The hotel is situated next to the entertainment centre which was great for different restaurants and the cinema. The restaurant 'The Bell House' was great value for money, although a bit noisy when the football is on! Tesco is directly across the road and the bus route goes straight into Manchester City Centre.

Yes, the Travelodge is basic and i was dreading our stay after reading the reviews on here, we were pleasantly surprised though and i would stay there again. If we were short of anything we only had to ask and it was delivered to the room. There was no free internet which would have been nice, as we were there for six weeks. The housekeeping staff came every day with fresh towels, teas and coffees and machines for drinks and sweets in the reception.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in a family room.This was without doubt the worst "hotel"that Ive ever experienced.No pillows or sheets for the sofa bed,which on examination was ripped stained and smelt.The windows were badly stained,filthy and posed a health risk!.Whilst trying to clean window noticed filth along the sills.One wafer thin bar of soap(family room)and not replaced for the second night.Two pitifull plastic glasses,so pathetic that they barely held liquid!. Complaining only achieved agreement from the employee,as to how bad this hotel was.No manager available to complain to .The highlight was the nocturnal life.On both nights no sleep possible between 0100 and 0500 due to drunken fighting,shouting swearing and general partying.Absolutely no intervention by hotel employee to prevent or stop the situation.No phones in room to contact reception or police.
Complaining to Travelodge head office acknowledged all aspects of my complaint.Apologies/compensation obviously dont feature in their business model.Paid £113 for two nights........youve been warned!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I was staying in this hotel with a group of 10 friends as we were all going to a concert in Manchester. Although a fair way out of the city there is a direct bus service and a cab home in the early hours was less than a tenner so location wise it was ok. It was also cheeaper than city centre hotels at around £50 per double room or £75 for a triple, booked a month in advance - not a bargain but the going rate.

You know a Travelodge isn't going to be luxury but I expect a chain hotel like one this or Premier Inn etc to confirm to certain basic levels of quality ie basic but good standard decoration, furnishings and equipment. Moreover as this was a reunion with old friends we were hardly going to be spending a lot of time in the room - a good shower and comfortable bed were the main requirements. This hotel barely delivered the first and the latter was frankly appalling.

The plug in bath came off the chain when removing it so had to be levered out with a teaspoon - ok I can live with that. The bathroom did not have a fan - not that big a deal maybe but wth three friends sharing a room all showering one after the other it became a sauna in there...not that big a deal but add in the lack of odour removal...I don't think I need to spell it out. A leak from the toilet didn't improve the impression of dejection.

All this would have been acceptable if a little dissapointing however the bed situation was shocking. As there were three of us one was using the pull out bed under the couch. The couch upholstery was stained. The bed mattress was thin, stained and ripped. I'd accept this in a backpackers where I'm paying a tenner for a bunk, not in a £25 per person hotel. Worse than this was the double bed. This had quite honestly the worse mattress I've ever encountered in a hotel. It was just soft and sagging - although it was both these things - you could feel every spring. One movement from my wife who was sharing the bed had me rolling around and vice versa. It was a terrible night's sleep and after a few beers I normally sleep through anything. Feedback from the rest of our party in the morning confirmed the same thing.

So in conclusion I'm not rating this hotel against a 5 star and so marking it down without reason. It simply failed to provide comfortable, basic accomodation.

As a final note, we were far from the only group of friends on a night out staying in this hotel...and definitely not the loudest. Even if this is the only hotel available and you can live with the bed, don't stay here if you are annoyed by dunken guests rolling back at all hours.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We payed about £35 for our family to stay one night and we found it to be clean and comfortable. It sits next door to a pub restaurant who does the 2 for £9 meals and a childrens indoor playarea. Just over the road is a cinema, bowling and lots of restaurants. For £35 we were very pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Arrived to find receptionist standing outside saying "Just having a smoke be with you in a bit"
Said there were no double rooms available despite the fact we had booked but we coud have a family room at no extra charge.
Bathroom was covered in mould & rust with only one small thin towel between 2 of us,One pillow each that was the thickness of a slice of bread.Asked reception for more pillows but told we coudn,t have any more unless another room cancelled.Eventually another towel appeared bur frankly I wouldn't have used it to wipe the floor with.All this for £53 a night.Thank God it was only one night!Disgusting rip off

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Manchester Didsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Didsbury

Address: A34 Kingsway | East Didsbury, Manchester M20 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Manchester Didsbury 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Travelodge Didsbury Hotel Manchester
Travelodge Hotel Didsbury
Travelodge Hotel Manchester
Travelodge Manchester
Travel Lodge Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Manchester Didsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.