We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good museum - probably not appropriate for very young children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial War Museum North

Imperial War Museum North
Trafford Wharf Road | Trafford Park, Manchester M17 1TZ, England
+44 161 836 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 80 Attractions in Manchester
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fascinating presentation of a timeline of 20th-century conflict. Part of Imperial War Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good museum - probably not appropriate for very young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We visited the Imperial War Museum and enjoyed it very much. We are Americans, so it was interesting to see the English prospective of past wars, etc. We really enjoyed the video that plays throughout the entire museum - very moving. I like the fact that they don't "glamorize" war, but just give the facts and make it very "human" and how war and violence effects everyone. I would recommend, however, I don't think very young children (8 and under) would enjoy it very much - it is geared for more like teenagers and older.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    456
    148
    49
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great piece of Architecture with a good collection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

A very nice building which captivates you on sight with a good collection of war items. Has a very nice art section and I was lucky to have the show present. Not bad if you really need to see war collections, weapons, a nuclear bomb and some vehicles and a plane.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

A Museum worth visiting, especially if you cannot make the London one.
Divide into sections, this Museum has some excellent exhibits and accompanying narratives give you all the information you need. There are also regular short films projected onto the walls of the inner museum and the accompanying audio adds to the atmosphere of warfare.
Entrance is free, but there are donation boxes and there is also a fee to ascend the tower to the viewing platform where excellent views of the surrounding cities of Manchester and Salford.
A café/restaurant is also available
The only downside for me was having to pay to use the disabled spaces.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not sure what this is supposed to be. A sculpture or a museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This museum is a bit mixed up. It suffers from an identity crisis. The building is very interesting if you are an architecture student, but is rather unsuited to exhibits. As a result of the internal layout of the building, the various items on display look like sculpture. The few items of war machinery look like modern art at the Tate Modern. Things were perched, hung or draped totally out of context or slanted stylishly like in a modernist fashion.

The end result of all this is to cheapen the memory of those who fought in the wars and to make objects of war into art...which they are not, nor were ever supposed to be.

Just as I was wandering around in abject disappointment, the museum lights went down and a ghastly sound and light show started up. Huge cartoons in the style of Roy Lichtenstein were projected onto the walls together with deafening music and voice over. This summed up what is a poor, tasteless museum. It totally misses the point. At least it was free and the staff friendly.

To cheer myself up I went to the Lowry on the other side of the docks. Not the best idea.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting museum, don't miss the art section”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A nice museum with very lively exhibits which informs about war from different angles rather than just focusing on the glory of battle and different types of weapons. I really loved the art section, there were some great artworks there and the information about them made them even more interesting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial War Museum North also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Imperial War Museum North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial War Museum North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.