We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Art Gallery

Manchester Art Gallery
Mosley Street, Manchester M2 3JL, England (Manchester City Centre)
0161 235 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 120 attractions in Manchester
Type: Art Galleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Manchester Art Gallery is one of the region’s most popular cultural destinations. It recently underwent a £35million expansion and refurbishment that transformed the museum into a world-class gallery displaying many of the city’s most important fine and decorative art works. The collection covers more than six centuries of work, but the museum is best known for its 19th century British paintings.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I hadn't expected to see so many paintings that I knew but had never seen 'in the flesh'. They really have a fine collection and I spent a good while exploring all the different galleries.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    119
    22
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience - enticing and engaging-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the Manchester Art Gallery. I'm no expert on art and galleries, but this one is my favourite. The exhibits were interesting, some breath taking and many people were just standing enthralled by the art on display. I also bought some lovely photographs as postcards to send to friends who were delighted. Make sure you take the lift.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful art gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

So many beautiful pictures. I had a limited amount of time so focused on the Pre-Raphaelites, Post-Impressionists and 20th C artists, but I will certainly revisit to spend more time in the presence of such wonderful paintings.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good afternoon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A real jewel - just go and enjoy it! I visited the recent DOit exhibition which was wonderful. There was even stuff to listen to in the lifts.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saunderton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Art Gallery but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Avoid the most hideous and strangest exhibition on the Do It section which really is not art at all. Empty boxes and can flung into various corners, a room with a duvet and clothes piled in a corner, with a 'Guy Faulk' in another corner of the same room really is stupid. Then there was the fridge precariously sitting on a table of some sort very silly!

Paintings by the young Lowrey and others were brilliant but the graffiti covered security camera and other mad so-called art floor made us want to leave the gallery immediately.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Art Gallery also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manchester Art Gallery to your Saves list