We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not huge but very special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Art Gallery

Manchester Art Gallery
Mosley Street, Manchester M2 3JL, England
0161 235 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 317 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Manchester Art Gallery is one of the region’s most popular cultural destinations. It recently underwent a £35million expansion and refurbishment that transformed the museum into a world-class gallery displaying many of the city’s most important fine and decorative art works. The collection covers more than six centuries of work, but the museum is best known for its 19th century British paintings.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Not huge but very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had a couple of hours spare on a recent trip so visited this gallery. It's not on the scale of some but none the worse for that - it's a great place to spend an afternoon without feeling that you will miss things.

There are some very special pre-Raphaelite paintings, and a display of empire posters was fascinating.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    212
    34
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Visited with my adult daughter. The gallery is well laid out and easy to navigate. Its contents are solid, if not spectacular, so while it is worth a visit, its definately not a must-see attraction.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great kids activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Visited on a day when they had a children's activity session. The kids really enjoyed the screen printing. Took out one of the activity sacks about Greek Myths while waiting for the paintings to dry. Kids had a great time!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small, free, fascinating and interactive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A variety of art work, from paintings to large sculpture. Some of Lowry's work is exhibited here. Housed in a lovely old building. Easy flow from gallery to gallery with good signposting. Excellent interactive areas for children, with opportunities to actually produce and display some art yourself. Close to central Manchester. Free admission. Toilets clean. Great cafe with reasonable prices.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations, very enjoyable few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Myself and my wife spent a good 2-3 hours looking round and interacting with the art. I'm no art-buff, but this is one of the best galleries I've visited. It would have been pretty good even for our 2 very young children as there was a fun hands on part of the gallery that we enjoyed as adults! Would recommend a visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Art Gallery also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.