We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice b&b, pleasant manager” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Central Guest House

Save Saved
You added New Central Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
New Central Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Manchester B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice b&b, pleasant manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My first visit to Manchester. Spent 4 nights at the guest house. The environment was neat and quiet. The location is very accessible to city centre and other interesting places. The manger/owner gave very warm and friendly welcome; gave different transport maps to assist in moving around in Manchester. She also offered juice and bottled water as soon as she helped in settling down in the room.
Stayed in a single room - very neat, with TV, toilet, shower, etc, the bed was small but comfortable - had comfortable sleep all through. The area was safe; I walked to Manchester Fort Shopping centre alone to have a late dinner at Nandos.
The breakfast was very superb. The manager was always helpful.
I forgot my book at the dinning room when I checked out; she phoned me when I got back to London same day, and promised to send it to me by post. She mailed it to me (without any charges to me) and I received it next day.

I'll definitely patronise the b&b again and recommend to anyone I know going to Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review us. Hope you have enjoyed your stay in the UK overall? Anytime you are in Manchester, we look forward to welcoming you back again, as you are a pleasant lady.
Thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stay here on my own quite a lot when working in Manchester. I stay in budget hotel chain also, and yes, it isn't as good as them. However, when I am cannot get an advance cheap hotel in Manchester, B&B's are the next choice; there are a number of similar for this price range. It is has small rooms, simple with all t hat you need, coffee, kettle, clean sheets, towels, soap.. The beds are single and small, but I always sleep well and have no problems. Breakfast is adequate and with fresh filtered coffee and juice.
The area has a "reputation", but I think it is undeserved and have never had any trouble here, and I have walked back early hours after a night out before.
People can complain, but what do you expect in a major city for this price?
The lady that owns and runs is lovely, always helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: Free parking as this is in a residential area, 20 min walk to Arndale and central attractions. Fort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review us.
We are looking into having more big en-suite rooms with double beds available very soon; leaving us with few cosy rooms.
Thank you for your custom and repeated business.
look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

check in time before 9pm
check out time at 10.30am
breakfast time before 9am
We were told about drinking in the premises and were told about no coming back drunk in the premises in case we get sick.
Were told not to leave a mess in the bedroom
We were told on our way back from town during the day that we had to leave our key in the premises.
We were told...

Good points : comfortable bed, free breakfast, free parking

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Checked into the room to find a huge skid mark in the toilet bowl, which was a wonderful surprise, and made us laugh for at least the next 48 hours. The towels supplied were more like panty liners in size, but the bathroom was ok other than that.
Breakfast was pretty basic, but i was scolded for wearing socks to the breakfast room, even though we were the only people in there. At least she let us turn the god channel over on the telly.
We were advised not to stray from the building after dark unless you want to get shot up by local gangs, by a friend who lived nearby, but then there was no where to go anyway.
For the purpose it served, i.e. somewhere to crash at night, it was ok. The staff were efficient, and the price was very cheap. It was nice to get back home afterwards though.

Room Tip: Room 6 has 2 single beds, and an on-suite for £4 extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi, we're sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay at our Guest House didn't meet with your expectations. We've investigated the 'skid row' issue and found this only to be a scratch in the toilet bowl, but we do understand that this may have been seen as something 'untoward'. This has been rectified now. I'm glad you were happy with the rest of the bathroom. In regards to the area, whilst the Guest House is not situated in the city centre, we've never had cause to issue any such alerts on security to our visitors. I’m pleased to note that like every other guests before you, you went out to your concert and came back to the Guest House safe at the early hours of the following morning.
Again, I'm glad that asides from the issues you mention you were relatively happy with your stay, and we'd welcome you back on your next visit to Manchester at which point, we we'd be happy to review your comments in more detail to ensure that those in our control are addressed. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Clean rooms good breakfast. Close to bus stop to city centre.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed here a while ago, but felt the need to find it and review it.
Firstly i cant believe the decent reviews theyve had.
To keep it brief,
*The door to my room was coming away from the wall, and someone could have very easily gained entry if they pushed the door.
*sheets were not clean and bed was not comfortable, if you turn over in the night, you'll discover your bed (on wheels) rolling across the laminate floor.
*Communal toilet wasnt good enough for the dog to go in
*Full breakfast was cold, and baked beans like bullets.
*Location was close to the centre, but in a rough area.
*It may have been cheap, but i still expect a certain standard!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi, we're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at our Guest House. We do aim to provide a comfortable alternative to more expensive hotels and on some occasions, this may not be to everyone's liking - for this we can only apologise. We would disagree about the state of the facilities as you reported the door been damaged on the third day of your stay. We agreed to call a locksmith to repair it for you at a cost according to our term and conditions but you opted to put it right and it was done! We do appreciate on that day, in the breakfast room, that you and your wife were not proud to announce the damage. Moreover, cleanliness is vital to us and we are regularly checked by the respective industry regulators to ensure we maintain our standards. Also, you do not want your room serviced. Your point on breakfast is noted, although again, we definitely don't set out to serve cold or uncooked food. All customer feedback is greatly received and we're constantly reviewing our service, facilities and standards to ensure they meet our visitor's expectations. Best regards, XXXXXXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

£28 including breakfast, what do you expect? Clean rooms yes, basic breakfast yes.

Ideal location to the MEN arena. Owner was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine, could have done with being a bit warmer.

Prob wouldn't take the Mrs for a romantic stay but ideal for stay with mates!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Central Guest House

Address: 144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Central Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your New Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Central Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.