We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms

47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms
47 King Street West, Manchester, England
0161 839 1929
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went here for a celebration at the weekend, whilst the staff and the restaurant are very nice, the food was very bland, extremely small portion size, and for what you get, overpriced. Wouldn't go back for an evening meal, perhaps for a coffee during the day. The chef's experience is not reflected in the standard of food. Perhaps it was his night off! The restaurant was quite empty for most of the evening, which for a Saturday night is surprising. Got a bit busy later on, but presumably because the food isn't particularly good, this is why.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    111
    52
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“art deco style restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a lovely meal here, great range of tea's staff were friendly ! have been here a few times and reccomend a visit here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Benedict Breakfast with Bugsy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Popped in here for an indulgent little breakfast having found myself with a bit of time en route to a meeting in Manchester. It caught my eye as I walked past and I was glad it did. Very nice fine dining touches (crisp linen, uniformed staff, etc) and a chic sort of 30s decor (think Prohibition, Public Enemy, Bugsy Malone, etc) made this little gem a really different venue. I went for very tasty smoked salmon eggs Benedict type thing, well presented it was too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A NEW DINING EXPERIENCE IN MANCHESTER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

There are many who visit the "trendy restaurants " in Manchester , San Carlo to see celebs, Bar and Grill for the "30 something" trendy, and others who would like a more select good food experience.
47 King Street will appeal to the latter. Located opposite SC it offers a quieter more refined evening with excellent service and good food.
A little "nouveau cuisine " perhaps, and certainly on the pricey side of city centre eating , nonetheless
we enjoyed a really good meal, excellent medallions of fillet and beautiful hake as mains.
A most interesting dessert menu finished the evening , together with some excellent Rioja well priced at £22.
With one round of pre drinks and 3 courses each , a bill of £170 for 2 is very much on the high side
and patrons ought to be aware of the "fine dinning pricing "

We will certainly return ,





It is refreshing to visit a restaurant in the city that is a little differant and not offering the same fayre as most , I would certainly endorse 47 ,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry h, Owner at 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and thought that the food and service were excellent. However, I am quite baffled as to the fact that you say your bill was £170 for 2 people!
Even if you ordered the most expensive 3 courses each from our A La Carte together with a couple of sides and had 1 round of drinks and a bottle of Rioja (which is a lot of food and drink!), your bill would not be over £130.
I do not know what round of pre-drinks you ordered but I am assuming it was not a bottle of champagne?!
If you would like to call the restaurant to discuss this with me then I would be delighted to speak to you.
Regards
Barry (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“High Tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a disappointing high tea with my wife here yesterday. Plus points, tea, sandwiches and scones were good. Cakes however were very poor. Seemed to be mini sponge cakes of the Mr Kipling or Iceland type, no variety. Had to get a clean tea cup too as the first one had lipstick marks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry h, Owner at 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointed that you only awarded us 3/5.
I can 100% confirm that our cakes on our Afternoon Tea are not Mr Kipling or any other supermarket brand. They are actually made bespoke! I am sorry that they were not to your liking. We chose carefully what to put on the Afternoon Teas and we have a variety which are produced, including mini Chocolate Fudge cakes, mini Victoria Sponge cakes, mini Meringues, mini Fairy cakes, mini Carrot cakes and mini Coffee/Walnut cakes.
Thanks
Barry (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.