We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmemorable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms

47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms
47 King Street West, Manchester, England
0161 839 1929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unmemorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's a nice space at 47 King Street West, and admittedly they've hired some young attractive waiters to woo the House of Fraser shoppers... but beyond that, nothing stood out.

I would probably come for a drink rather than food, having dined from their dinner menu with a sizeable group and sampled a range of the middling dishes.

Oh also, they're packed during the lunch hour so good for a bit of people-watching.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    89
    45
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bacup, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic Sunday lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Went with my husband and had a good old fashioned Sunday Roast but served in a modern, up to date restaurant. Decor is fabulous and the Tiffany inspired lights a delight to behold. This started out as a tea room but has developed into so much more and yet has retained the friendly approach of the staff and the management. Very hands on family business with a warm welcome to everyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No longer just a Tea Room!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Booked this venue after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Their transition to a sophisticated evening restaurant did not disappoint.
The food was of excellent quality and presentation. What made the evening complete was the owner and all members of staff who genuinely wanted to make our meal a really great experience. They succeeded!
So now whether its breakfast, afternoon tea or an evening meal to remember No. 47 ticks all the boxes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food but slow service from the kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have to start off by saying that we went to 47 King Street West on Saturday night for my wife's birthday and first impressions were very positive. We arrived for 7.30pm and were offered the option of sitting and having a drink near the bar or sitting down. The restaurant is obviously popular and due to the lack of space for all of our party at the bar (there were 12 of us), we opted to be shown to the table. The table was lovely and the ambience of the restaurant is great.
We ordered drinks and a few bottles of champagne and ordered starters. The disappointment (and to be fair - ONLY disappointment) was the speed of getting the food. We sat down at around 7.35pm and the starters arrived at 9.05pm after I had spoken to the manager to advise that we had somewhere to go afterwards. To be fair, the speed of service improved after that and the staff did well.
The food was absolutely excellent and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it.
Sadly, due to our other commitments, we had to leave without having dessert but I'd definitely go back.
I am hoping that the slow service was a one off and maybe we caught them on a particularly busy night but I do think that they should be able to cope with a full house.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry h, Manager at 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Steve,
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to look after you and your large party last Saturday evening. I take on-board all of your comments (positive and negative). Firstly, I am delighted that you enjoyed the food, ambiance and service. Unfortunately, as you state, you did wait too long for your food to arrive, which I can appreciate can put a downer on the experience as a whole. This is not a problem we have encountered often but we are always looking at ways to improve delivery of food from the kitchen.
I appreciate you taking the time to post the review and look forward to seeing you again soon at 47.
Regards
Barry - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Yorkshre
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely family Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We went to 47 King Street West for Sunday Lunch my husband's birthday and were not disappointed. The staff are very smart, welcoming and professional. It was lovely to see formal white table cloths as it made it more of an occasion.
We selected the 3 course option at £18.95, which we considered decent value. We felt the timing between each course was spot on and the staff attentive. The food was well presented and good sized portions. Our only complaint were slightly over-cooked Yorkshire puddings, but we still managed to eat them!
A harpist was playing during our visit, which was lovely and relaxing - not sure if this was for a special occasion for someone, or if that's the norm on a Sunday - whichever, it added to the relaxing atmosphere.
We have just been checking out the Christmas menu, as we are planning to return to Manchester (we popped over from Leeds) when the German Christmas market is on and anther visit to this restaurant/tearooms is definitely on the cards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.