We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub in Manchester and in the top 10 in the UK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marble Arch

The Marble Arch
73 Rochdale Road, Manchester M4 4HY, England
0161 832 5914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, British, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best pub in Manchester and in the top 10 in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Marble Arch is well worth the hike up Rochdale Road from the middle of town. It is renowned for its Victorian tiled decor, and more importantly, being home to the Marble brewery, which is located to the pub's rear. The choice of ales is stunning and they are of superb quality. Staff are helpful and you are allowed to sample before you buy a pint. Standout beers are Lagonda, Pint, Ginger and Manchester. But they have other excellent regulars, guest ales and seasonal ales too. I would go as far to say that, Thornbridge aside, Marble beers are about the best you can find anywhere in the UK for sheer variety. That's quite a bold statement but I've tried a lot of real ale!

The food is pretty decent too and worth a try because it is not merely an afterthought. The changing menu is usually on view on the blackboard and they often have a decent cheeseboard too!

Take a trip up there. It's well worth it. I guarantee you'll want to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    45
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oldham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Marble Arch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Sadly have to give this place one star (would give zero if available).

We went to try the food on a recommendation.

Our meal arrived with luke warm rubbery chips, didn't even touch the main course but asked the staff to deal with the cold meal. The bar staff were prompt and apologetic, however the response from the kitchen was disgusting… nothing wrong with the meal gave us our money back and refused to serve us any more food. Probably the worse service we have ever received.

Good beer, busy but friendly front of house staff, atmosphere ok, unfortunately this incident with the kitchen totally ruined our opinion.

Great food at the Angel two minutes away, (see my other review).

I was so shocked and upset by this that I felt the need to give my only ever negative review on trip advisor.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beer menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Anywhere that has a beer menu clearly has to be onto a winner. Lots of interesting beers, lots of which are brewed on site on sale here. Never eaten here, usually get far too distracted by the beers. Interesting pub too with the traditional sloping floor to help swill out the pub in Victorian times, gets packed with bright orange jackets when the shift changes at the sorting office.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best pub in Manchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Go regularly and never dissapointed - the beer, the food and the atmosphere all excellent. I even go on match days and the home and away fans mix with no issues. Plenty of choice in both the beer and the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

It's a bit of a trek from the city centre, and as we walked up the Rochdale Road we started to worry about what to expect. However, we were so pleased we had kept on walking. Fantastic range of their own brews, we sampled a few each; the wheat beer, the Pint, the summer, the IPA and the ginger. All thoroughly delicious. We ate in the bar and shared a stunning ploughmans, which more than satisfied. The sublime scotch egg would be worth walking back for, and we're home 200 miles away now! Thoroughly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marble Arch also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marble Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.