We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work booked this hotel and I'm glad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Manchester Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Manchester Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Manchester Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brighton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Work booked this hotel and I'm glad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was here just one night, my employer booked the hotel and they placed me in an executive room which was really nice.

But this wasn't the best bit. I was speaking at a presentation and I had an IT crisis. The reception staff where amazing. James and Megan spent a great deal of time helping me resolve the issue and went well out of the way.

Megan actually resolved the issue after about 90 minutes. She even got me a coffee as she could see I was getting concerned.

The room was great, well equipped and well designed, but the best bit for me was the amazing staff, the best by far I have come across in my work. They are a credit to customer service and the hotel.

Thank you

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Manchester. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    416
    134
    51
    14
See reviews for
125
260
101
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is in a really good, convenient location, with a nicely presented reception area.
Check in was just whizzed through, no mention of the gym facilities and had to ask for the breakfast details to be repeated as I couldn’t catch what was said the first time.
Perfectly reasonable but very basic room, it was a good size and clean but a tired appearance. The lighting was poor which made the whole room seem dingy. I think the mattress had seen better days but we slept soundly. The bathroom was compact but clean, it had the most basic toiletries that I’ve ever come across in a hotel, and the toilet was in a separate room – felt that I’d been sent to a cupboard as punishment, very weird.
There was free wi-fi, and the option to pay for stronger broadband service if needed.
There weren’t any plug sockets near the bed so couldn’t charge my phone near me overnight.
Have to get a separate key to access the gym, and apparently complete a health & safety disclaimer before use - this put us off using it as didn't want the added hassle so can't comment on the actual facilities once inside.
The breakfast was average, weren’t many customers at the time of the morning that we were there but plenty of staff but took ages for our plates to be cleared away.
Would probably stay somewhere different next time we’re in Manchester as there are so many other hotels available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the issues you have raised with the team here.
Again I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind Regards,

Iain Black
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for a night out. Good location, apart from its stinks outside!

We used the spa facilities which were lovely. Whole hotel is very clean and rooms are very modern. Loved the aux lead, could listen to your own music in the shower which was fun haha.

Late check out was perfect and the bed was SO comfy! Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to seeing you again hopefully soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nw England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent an enjoyable two days at the Novotel Manchester Centre.

The hotel is well appointed and perfectly positioned in the heart of the city.

My executive had everything required for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Iain, Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Not sure if I would like to stay here, although the hotel's installations (public areas) are quiet nice, the service is not entirely up to par for the price paid. Rooms are comfortable even for the reduce size and very well coordinated with the decor, telephones do not have speaker or second line.
Breakfast is nice and well assorted this is something you should not miss.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Manchester Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments, which we are addressing. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for one night in April. I was very happy with the size of the room and the cleanliness of the hotel. The only thing that would make me give it a 4 star instead of a 5 star is there is no free parking when staying at the hotel. There is an underground car park near by but it was £25+ for 24 hours. I only stayed for one night but if I was staying for more it could become very costly

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. We do have a discount negotiated with local car parks so please ask on your next stay. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was a spur of the moment decision to go to Manchester for an overnighter, having stayed at Novotels before this was a first choice, not the cheapest but you definitely get what you pay for. Very smart hotel with well equipped rooms with very helpful and friendly staff. 2 minutes from the Chinese area (some of the best Chinese food I have every had) and only 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly Circus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Business Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. Elements Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Manchester Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.