We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for city centre stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Manchester Centre

Save Saved
You added Novotel Manchester Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 117 hotels in Manchester
hereford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good for city centre stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

stayed for 1 night for concert. Excellent location for city centre and chinese quarter. About 10 minute walk into centre.
Only had 1 person on reception for arrivals/departures which lead to a little stand in line. The room we had was on a deal so can't really complain. It was warm, clean and reasonable well decorated. Basic double room. The only thing we didn't like was the bed. It was obviously well worn, as it dipped in the middle ( we rolled towards each other all the time !! ) and it was extremely uncomfortable. The Bar again was fairly basic BUT was open 24hrs. Parking at adjacent car park is £20 for 24hrs but you get a discount from reception of £6,leaving £14 to pay. The breakfast is buffet style and was very good. Overall, a good place to stay BUT would not pay the full price as advertised on their own web site. It's not worth the money in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments, sorry to read about the mattress as we have recently replaced the majority of these with just a few more to go. Kind Regards Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    380
    120
    45
    13
See reviews for
117
235
97
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were attending a concert in Manchester and selected this hotel for its central location which is excellent as it close to the majority of attractions and only a short taxi/tram ride away from others. Parking is available next to the hotel and with the discount voucher provided (please ask) reasonably priced. The current roadworks and pedestrianisation of the area will eventually be complete, but in the meantime it does detract somewhat from the general locale. The hotel staff were efficient and friendly and had a good knowledge of the area. The executive room was pleasant, but as can be expected in some city locations the view was restricted to that of another hotel across a narrow street. The bed was comfortable, the lighting adequate and the bathroom had a separate toilet, which was a nice touch. The windows do open, but be warned, it can get very noisy, so you may want to rely on the air conditioning instead. We eat early in the bar area and had a pleasant meal. The buffet breakfast was good and unhurried as there was plenty of seating. Both the restaurant and bar areas are designed to be functional but there is comfortable seating elsewhere. Overall, an enjoyable stay. Would I stay again - yes. Would I recommend it - I already have!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel in Manchester. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night attending a business meeting in the city centre.
Arrived earlier than check-in so left bags with reception and certainly no problem in doing so.
Did the checking in early evening, the receptionist being very professional and again no issue.
The rooms are spacious with TV, free wi-fi (remember and log in, especially if using a mobile phone - although you may think you are connected you need to go through the process), with complimentary tea/coffee/kettle in the room. Sofa bed provided and bed/other furnishings well appointed. There is a bathroom/separate WC as with most Novotels these days. Soap/Shower gel/shampoo provided as standard.
Bar/restaurant all quite open plan and adequate without looking plush (more an appearance of functionality).
Breakfast was self service with tea/coffee being delivered to your table. Breakfast was good although some items were in short supply (cooked and non-cooked, the most telling was the fresh fruit trays that were almost empty apart from grapes and melon). Normally if on a family stay I'd point it out but was on a tight schedule (in perspective someone should be checking?). I had to ask for tea 3 times which was eventually delivered once I had finished breakfast.
Check out was efficient but watch for queues if you are in a hurry. Left our bags again although retrieval wasn't as smooth as before - either tickets were matched to wrong bags or concierge didn't understand the process (possibly latter as asked us to identify the ticket we had handed her from a pile - like we memorised the number.....). Did get the bags after selecting in an unlit room so all was well.
Certainly good 4 out of 5 on account of room but breakfast service lets it down this time.
If anyone is on a room only basis, there is the Paramount Wetherspoon pub round the corner that serves breakfast from 7am.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel in Manchester. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about breakfast. We take great pride in our breakfast offer and it is superior by far to any of the cheaper alternatives I was sorry welet you down. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is quite well placed for the city centre with parking at the next door pay car park. The hotel does offer a discount but overnight still cost me £14. The room was clean and spacious and had a pull out bed so if you have small children there is plenty of room. Unusually the toilet was separate from the bathroom so for two or more occupants you don't have to wait for someone to get out of the shower. The restaurant at 8pm Friday was empty apart from me, the food was OK but pricey for what it was. For a generic city hotel it was OK for an overnight or possibly a weekend break but no more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Novotel Manchester. The car park which often gets a mention does not belong to the hotel, but unliker the majority of city centre hotels we benefit from the fact it is situated just below our property and the operator gives hotel guests a discount. As a result is better than the city centre as a whole. Cheaper parking can be found further afield but not in a secure environment such as ours. We hope to welcome you to our hotel once again kind regards Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed one night here in a superior room - got very good deal on B&B using Booking.com. Reception very welcoming and clean and staff efficient and friendly. Stayed on Floor 3 and found 2 fast bright lifts. Room was spacious and well equipped, with all that you would want and expect. Only slight niggles, toilet very small so although we were fine it would not be suited to the larger visitor! I slept very well but my other half said she found the bed a little uncomfortable with a definate dip in the mattress.
Breakfast was very good.
Parking next door at Q parks should be £20 per 24 hrs but hotel gives you a £6 discount on this when you check out.
Would stay here again without a doubt,

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra and no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel in Manchester. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stay in the Novotel in Manchester City Centre when on business in Manchester. The location is good, just off one of the main streets and is quiet. The hotel is newish and the rooms are in god condition and cleaned to a high standard.
The £10 room upgrade is excellent value if it's available. The staff are friendly throughout. Breakfast is to a good standard with plenty of choice with the resturant clean and spacious.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back which are more quiet facing backstreets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel inManchester and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards,Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Have stayed here on a few occassions now and rooms are always clean and tidy.
Breakfast is buffet style with good choice
Good location close to Chinatown and a 10 minute walk to the centre
Car parking is at nearby Q parks which the hotel offers a discount for

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel in Manchester. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Family Hotel in Manchester
#24 Business Hotel in Manchester
#34 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. Elements Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Manchester Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.