We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Manchester Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Manchester Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Manchester Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel for business purposes.

The hotel is walking distance from Piccadilly Station (approx 8mins).

There is a very nice bar which serves wide range of alcohol. Breakfast was very good & had lots to offer. Had dinner both nights & have to say very consistent & of very good standard. The waitresses very friendly & attentive.

The room is laid out in very modern decor. Separate bathroom & toilet. Full amenities available including iron in room as standard.

Despite its central location the hotel is soundproof from all the street noise outside - you literally can't hear any noise once you are in your room.

I will be returning to start at this hotel during my next visit to manchester.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Glad you had a good time at Novotel Manchester Centre! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    416
    134
    50
    14
See reviews for
125
260
101
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This review is for the restaurant.

Both myself and my fiancé have been to this restaurant many times and have tried a selection of dishes from starters to deserts. We have enjoyed everyone of them with only a few slight niggles over around 6-7 trips. The layout is modern and clean and the staff there have been really nice and easy to talk to/order from every time. We normally go in the evening (around 8:00 pm) and have never left disappointed. The price is about average for a nice restaurant in the city centre. The meal sizes seem well portioned and the food well cooked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Good to read your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Manchester. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel. Kind regards,Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed for one night at the hotel which is situated right next to the Chinese quarter in Manchester - great location. We were there for a conference and were occupying the meeting rooms on the first floor. The hotel were well equipped for managing a large number of guests arriving/departing at the same time and the check-in service was well organised and speedy. We were well looked after during the conference and the food was great with a good choice of hot/cold/antipasti. The bedrooms are modern, spotlessly clean and very comfy with wiring for internet and mp3/iPod. Great shower too. Can recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
thank you for your review i was pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Novotel manchester Centre. Kind Regards Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business and was less than impressed. I had requested a room with a bath when I booked, but initially was given one with a shower only. I went back down to reception and asked to be changed to a different room. The receptionist apologised and I was given another key, and back up I went - but this room also only had a shower. After half an hour and 4 attempts, each time going up and down in the lift with my bags, and each time still being given a room with only a shower, I still had not got a room. My friend who I was meeting for dinner had been sitting patiently waiting for me, but eventually we got fed up. In the end I gave up and handed my bags to one of the receptionists and asked them to find me a suitable room, put my bags in it, and give me the key when I returned from dinner.

The room I was eventually given was a business room and was very nice and comfortable, so no complaints about that. And the location of the hotel is great, the breakfast is good and they now have free wifi throughout the hotel, so all good and as you would expect. But come on, how difficult is it to meet such a simple request? And why don't the reception systems have such basic information about the rooms like if they have a bath and shower, or only a shower? And if there is a problem like this, then it should be simple to fix - and in event it shouldn't be up to me to keep dragging my bags all over the hotel in the process of trying to sort it out. This is not a bargain motel and the room costs the best part of £100, so I do expect a bit better service than that. I was told someone would ring me about it, but no one did.

So the hotel itself - fine. Problem solving and service - could try harder!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I can assure you the matter is being looked into and we will be updating our computer system to reflect this.
Again I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Kind Regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was there for a congress, so the review is not only for the room but for the facilities.
It is a very modern hotel, they welcomed us really well and were very organized.
The congress went on easily and they thought of everything, from a room to lock the baggage to an endless supply of water, coffee, tea & pastries during the day.
The rooms we used were well light, clean and handy, there were snacks and stationary for us to use of very good quality.
The lunch was very good and varied, giving everyone choice, from vegetarian spring rolls to pizza, very nice!!
They also made us dinner for one night and again, great choice: meats, pasta, bread, snacks and salad all cooked really well. I had pasta and beef & it was delicious.
There were small cakes and mousses for dessert as well as cheeses and crackers.
Breakfast was delicious too, with a lot of choice.
There was a bar and although a little bit pricey I found very good choice of whisky and there was also good choice for beer and wine drinkers.
The rooms were modern and very clean, simple in its design and very practical.
Bathroom was well design, it has the toilet separate from the bath/shower and the toiletries were of very good quality. Towels were really nice fluffly, clean and dried well.
Service was good too.
It is very well located, very central, near to all types of transport and Piccadilly at walking distance.
They made the event a success, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Novotel Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Bright, spacious, modern very well decorated and highly specified hotel. Excellent room, good food, high standards of service. Very stylish fixtures and fittings and all high tech connectivity. Room rates are high, but substantial discounts are achievable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here on business, it's very good value, clean , efficient , quick check in/ out..good breakfast.cenrally located in this great city, I would recommend it and stay here again. The bar is away from the rooms so no late noise, the drinks are as expected a little steep

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Family Hotel in Manchester
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. Elements Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Manchester Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.