We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tom Odell Gig” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O2 Apollo Manchester

O2 Apollo Manchester
Stockport Road | Ardwick Green, Manchester M12 6AP, England
08444 777 677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 317 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The O2 Apollo Manchester opened on August 29th 1938 and is one of the premier concert venues in England, with shows from every major rock, pop and comedy act on the touring circuit. The breadth of styles of events covers every market - the cutting edge of modern British music, through some of the biggest artists from overseas, popular comedy, and music for older generations. With both fully seated and part-standing formats, this versatile venue increases its footfall and presentations year on year. Art Deco in style, the Grade II listed building has been central to the British touring circuit for decades, attracting Best Venue nominations and patrons from across the globe.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Tom Odell Gig”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went to a Tom Odell concert at the Apollo It was very good as expected its a great venue for concerts. I will return again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    88
    24
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Saw the Pogues last night at The Apollo and view was great as the seating is well tiered. Facilities are good but toilets a little dated. On-site parking good and vfm at £5 as only yards from the main entrance.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“First visit - a big old worn theatre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

First visit comments from Saturday - Jools Holland

Waited in the O2 priority line after asking advice from a sarcastic security chap. Got in two minutes after doors. Quickly went up to an O2 lounge where staff were preparing and not ready to serve, fab little room though. We put our own iPhone on the dock to get some music and atmos in the place and enjoyed a drink.

Down to the stalls where we took our seats on row MM, nearly at the back. Apparently for some concerts the ground floor seats are removed for standing. The sound was pretty good for a theatre shape (still not as good as a hall type). There was only speakers on the stage, nothing further back. The bar at the back of the stalls was open throughout the support acts and clearly audible, which was a shame.

Seats are old, saggy affairs and only really good enough only for rock concerts.

There is a Tesco express opposite for cashpoint or supplies. Walking back into the centre after the concert seemed safe being on a main road and only took twenty minutes.

I am sure there are plenty of people that have seen loads of memorable concerts here but I won't be rushing back, there are much better places...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Still got it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have always had a great gig experience here, from Lou Reed, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Moby, Depeche Mode, Thompson Twins ( ahem! ) Flock of Seagulls.. Bunnymen.. Travis.. and the list goes on, in the 1980's the over=zealous security guys wouldn't even let you go to the front without being put in a headlock but these days there are no seats downstairs most of the time.. the famous sloping floor, the burger bar and bar at the back,,, loads of memories here, plus there's a fabulous little bar around the side of the Apollo,, ( is it still there?? )

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shut the bar while the act us on!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Saw the fabulous Deacon Blue last night for the second time at this venue. Band and venue were great but my night was spoilt by constant travellers to the bar when the act was on....just rude! Courtesy suggests bar should be shut. The band must have felt like they were busking at Piccadilly station

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O2 Apollo Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to O2 Apollo Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O2 Apollo Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.