We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence and the machines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O2 Apollo Manchester

O2 Apollo Manchester
Stockport Road | Ardwick Green, Manchester M12 6AP, England
08444 777 677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 80 Attractions in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The O2 Apollo Manchester opened on August 29th 1938 and is one of the premier concert venues in England, with shows from every major rock, pop and comedy act on the touring circuit. The breadth of styles of events covers every market - the cutting edge of modern British music, through some of the biggest artists from overseas, popular comedy, and music for older generations. With both fully seated and part-standing formats, this versatile venue increases its footfall and presentations year on year. Art Deco in style, the Grade II listed building has been central to the British touring circuit for decades, attracting Best Venue nominations and patrons from across the globe.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Florence and the machines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Saw a concert here a while back, it's a really authentic place and feels like a good old cinema. Great atmosphere when the music is blearing!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    71
    20
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Looks dated from the outside but a great venue lies within.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This venue is situated just outside the city centre a short walk from Piccadilly Rly Stn or at the junction of the A57 Hyde Rd and Stockport Rd at Ardwick. If you have not visited here before your first impressions might not be that great. If you travel by car you can park for £5 either side of the building or you could find street parking nearby. We arrived at 1830 for a 1900 door opening. The queues had already formed outside but the concert did not start until 2000 so its up to you what you prefer to do. There are places to buy cold drinks and confectionery and a bar inside but don't expect large seating areas where you can relax before the concert. It would appear most just took there drinks to their seats. We were on row R which is 18 rows from the front in the stalls but I was pleasantly surprised that we seemed so close to the front. There are approximately 40 seats to a row with the low numbers on the right as you face the stage. I say this only because many people were wandering around wondering where to find their seats not knowing which way the numbers went. We were never compromised by those seated in from of us as we could see quite clearly although at the concert we attended much of the time we all ended up standing up for some songs at the Olivia Newton John concert. Having said that the night we were there the crowd made us enjoy the night even more as most participated and interacted with ONJ. Great atmosphere and a great night out. There was no interval at our concert and to be honest we preferred that as there would have been nowhere to go. The concert lasted just under 2 hrs which some might have found a little daunting as we did notice people regularly leaving their seats for the toilets or the bar. However, depending on the artist we would definitely return to this venue.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great, intimate venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Been here lots over the years. Came to see seal in December and it didn't disappoint! So bizarre to sit down at some gigs here and rave away on the floor at others! Great size room to build a really fab relationship between artist and fan!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Been here a few times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a great small venue for concerts and shows. I've been many times recently e.g. Gary Barlow, Ross Noble and you feel so much more part of the show than at the big arenas.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Venue to see the Quo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Greta Venue for a concert only 20 minutes walk from the train station.
Acoustics were fantastic,staff very friendly and drinks reasonably priced!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O2 Apollo Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to O2 Apollo Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O2 Apollo Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.